Texas Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I love this coleslaw! I too reduced the cayenne and cumin by half, but it was perfect. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Made this for a dinner party last summer and the people we had over had lived in Texas for 8 years, they thought it was great. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
this is the best coleslaw I've had so yummy and tangy so much tastier than the traditional coleslaw. Quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Too much cumin! You want it to enhance the flavor, not take it over! 1 tsp is more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garden queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I love this slaw. It's tasty and tangy and just different. One may want to consider the fact that there are a few savory spices in this recipe, so if black pepper makes you sweat, this is maube not the best choice. If you like spicy, tangy - you'll make this salad again and again for the taste and the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASITA76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herzeliya, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I added corn and cilantro. Soooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Hirschman
Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Delicious and fresh-tasting. Especially yummy for those of us who don't like overly mayonaise-y coleslaw. And the cayenne gives this a wonderful, surprise "kick"--no longer will your coleslaw be something that just "comes along for the ride!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
HMMM.. could barely even eat this....was very disappointed. The heat was way too intense, and so was the cumin....waaay too much cumin. This recipe needs a major rework/rehab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Awesome taste but used red cabbage instead of green and added a can of rinsed black beans and some chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I found the cumin in the dressing much too strong in this. A hint of it only would be preferable. It was also very salty. The amount of dressing this makes is excessive, so I would recommend making only half the amount. Thanks for sharing the recipe with us. I would make it again with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States