Texas Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I have been looking for a good slaw recipe with no added sugar or sweeteners. After reading the reviews, I decided to make this 1 day in advance. I also decided to HALVE the spices. I'm so glad I cut back on the spice. I cannot imagine this slaw being edible with the full amount. It is very spicy with half the cumin, cayenne, and black pepper. I'm not sure if I'll make this again, but if I do, I will cut back on the spice even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I think this has a lot of potential, but I would recommend cutting back on the cumin and definitely cut back on the cayenne pepper to about half a teaspoon. It was so spicy we couldn't even finish what was on our plates, and we like spicy food so this is saying a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
i cut back on the ccumin to 1/2 added also added 1/4 cup sugar and doubled the lime juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
talk about kapow! didn't have any lime so i just added a ton of lemon.. was worried abt the amt of mayo but it came out fine.. im a big fan of strong tasting foods and this was on the cusp of almost being too much for me.. did enjoy the dish tho.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Never really liked coleslaw. Was looking for something different to go with BBQ brisket sandwich and this was it. Love the cumin as it takes away some of the cabbage taste. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
We loved it! I had all the ingredients and used prepackaged coleslaw mix. Instead of the green onion, I substituted a whole white onion, which I chopped in the food processor with 6-8 radishes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Awesome coleslaw if you don't like traditional slaw that is too sweet. It definitely has a kick..more like a punch.. so if you don't want to feel the after burn in your mouth try 1/2 tsp of cayenne, instead. Absolutely loved the cumin and that's what makes this recipe. I substituted sour cream and greek yogurt for the mayo. I don't like mayo and next time will probably just sub the yogurt but because I had sour cream I needed to use up I included that. I will use this again in the summer when we start to BBQ again. Yummy and thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I followed this recipe to a t and measured all the seasonings out only using a bag of pre-shredded cabbage with carrots in it. OMG the seasoning were out of control. It felt like a paste in my mouth. Usually I never measure out my seasonings just use what I think is right, I wish I would have with this recipe because I think it has the potential to be really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This is amazing when put on top of pulled pork - eitehr with or without a bun. The creamy, spicy flavors and crunchy texture make mouths happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cantonment, Florida, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I thought it was ok. No one in my family liked it. The cumin was very overpowering and it was pretty spicy. Tasted kinda like a taco but that"s all you taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States