Texas Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I followed this recipe to a t and measured all the seasonings out only using a bag of pre-shredded cabbage with carrots in it. OMG the seasoning were out of control. It felt like a paste in my mouth. Usually I never measure out my seasonings just use what I think is right, I wish I would have with this recipe because I think it has the potential to be really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This is amazing when put on top of pulled pork - eitehr with or without a bun. The creamy, spicy flavors and crunchy texture make mouths happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cantonment, Florida, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I thought it was ok. No one in my family liked it. The cumin was very overpowering and it was pretty spicy. Tasted kinda like a taco but that"s all you taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I love this coleslaw! I too reduced the cayenne and cumin by half, but it was perfect. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Made this for a dinner party last summer and the people we had over had lived in Texas for 8 years, they thought it was great. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
this is the best coleslaw I've had so yummy and tangy so much tastier than the traditional coleslaw. Quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Too much cumin! You want it to enhance the flavor, not take it over! 1 tsp is more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garden queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I love this slaw. It's tasty and tangy and just different. One may want to consider the fact that there are a few savory spices in this recipe, so if black pepper makes you sweat, this is maube not the best choice. If you like spicy, tangy - you'll make this salad again and again for the taste and the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASITA76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herzeliya, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I added corn and cilantro. Soooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Hirschman
Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Delicious and fresh-tasting. Especially yummy for those of us who don't like overly mayonaise-y coleslaw. And the cayenne gives this a wonderful, surprise "kick"--no longer will your coleslaw be something that just "comes along for the ride!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States