Texas Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Made it just like it said for brownies and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
This is my "go to" frosting recipe! I will never buy frosting out of a can again if I can help it! My family and friends love it! Its just the right touch to my chocolate cake! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Came out perfectly! thank you for this easy to make recipe. Little ingredients with big taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corina Treon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Loved it! My guests wanted the recipe for this frosting.. I only put 2 cups of confectioners sugar. I recommend this on cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Tried this frosting on a red velvet cake and my family devoured it. Used a little extra cocoa to get the chocolatey taste with half the confectioners sugar. Substituted 1 1/2 cup brown sugar for the other 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Discovery Bay, Saint Ann, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I made the frosting to use on black-bean brownies. I used extra-virgin coconut oil instead of the margarine. Just place a cup with the coconut oil (if you have the solid version)in the sink or another container of warm water and the oil will melt quickly. Use extra-virgin because it has more of a coconut taste. I halved the recipe and had plenty for my 8x8 pan of brownies. I had to gradually add more milk to get the consistency of soft frosting. The amount in the recipe wasn't enough. My kids loved this frosting and it gave sweetness to the black bean brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This made enough to generously ice a 9x13 pan of brownies. At first I made it as written, but only half a recipe. It was too sweet for me, so I increased everything so that I ended up with the full recipe, except just over half the amount of sugar, and lots of extra cocoa. I liked it that way better. I also know from past experience that substituting brewed coffee for the milk is amazing, I just didn't have any coffee. I would do that next time if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I followed this recipe to a "T"! Delicious! I used it on a yellow box cake. I always test new frosting recipes on box cakes. If it's a keeper then I'll bake a cake from scratch. This recipe is definitely a keeper! Next time I will double it though. As written it's not really enough to adequately frost a 9x13 cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This tasted really good! It was incredibly easy to make too. I added about 2 more tablespoons of milk to make it a more spreadable consistency. It wasn't too sweet and it tasted great on a yellow cake. I'll definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Only added half the sugar. Taste great to me! Put over a chocolate cake that was in a pan, so the runny consistency didn't matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States