Texas Caviar with Avocado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KMLAWN
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
Hi, I posted this recipe...just wanted to add, I use WishBone Italian dressing and also black beans which can substitute for the black-eyed peas (I usually do one of each if I can, but sometimes the black-eyed peas are hard to find). This is ALWAYS a huge hit, people ask me over and over to make it, you can adjust the spice level and even kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
This was so delicious and easy to make! We had to omit the avacado (they were unripe) and added 1/2 c. of fresh chopped cilantro - served them with Fritos Scoops and everyone thought it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Yummy! I made this to take to work today, two hours later it's all gone... Perfect as is, I wouldn't change a thing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This was a big hit. I used one can of black eyed peas and one can of black beans. Next time I will use more pepper or jalapeno to give it a little more kick. I also used more avacado than what was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
Delightful as is. The medley of ingredients were appetizing looking and delicious! I may mash up the black-eyed peas (only) in the food processor next time to see if it's a little more traditional dip-like. Fantastic way to eat beans (peas). Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
Absolutly delicious!! Served with tortilla chips and had NO left-overs. Even my picky teenager loved it. Will definatly make again!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
"The Best"! Try this one - you'll like it. If by some miracle you have any left over, experiement with some of your favorite add-ins like a bit of shredded meat, a spoonful of sour. cream, chopped black olives and stuff into a corn tortilla or pita for lunch. Thanks Kim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
Served this at a new year's eve party - huge hit! Very simple but the flavors are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
This is delicious! Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
It was great even though I left out the peas and jalapenos...and I just used regular pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leakey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States