Texas Caviar with Avocado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I wasn't sure about this recipe, I think because of the Italian dressing, but it got such great reviews I decided to try it. It was wonderful! I love the avocado in it. I did use one can of black beans and one can black-eyed peas and I added cilantro. I made it for a potluck and everyone loved it. This will replace my other recipe for bean dip which was much more time consuming. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This is excellent! I used a bit less jalapeno and onion than it called for, added black olives, and topped with salsa and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This is one of my favorite salads...I know people use this as a dip, I eat it as a salad. I also like to put this over salad greens. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Just made this dip this afternoon and loved it. I am taking this to a bike ride get together. I picked this one due to no mayo or anything else to spoil in the heat. I used 1 can of black beans and 1 can of blackeyed peas. Added some garlic and fresh squeezed lime. A must. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fall River, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Liked this recipe, but I wonder if it would be better warm? Be sure to rinse the beans well, or else the colors don't stand out as well. I used this for the "good luck" black-eyed pea portion of a new year's party menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LittleMissCooker
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Very good. I made this recipe for teh 2008 superbowl and it was a hit! Everyone was asking me "what's in this?" "where did you get this recipe?" and much more. One thing I would like to add though is to use 1 can of black beans, and 1 can of black-eyed peas instead of just 2 cans of black-eyed peas. Also, let this recipe sit in the fridge for atleast 3 hours to let all the juices come together. Then, right before serving add teh avacodo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This was a favorite dip at our Neighborhood New Year's Eve Party. I found the recipe and pulled all the ingredients out, but my husband put it together. I am not sure if he used too much Italian dressing, but I would use less to make it less soupy. The flavor was outstanding and just wonderful blend of seasoning on the taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
It was delicious, but I tinkered with it a little bit to suit my own tastes. I omitted the jalepeno, and added a can of drained sweet corn and a small can of drained, sliced olives. Excellent! Everyone wanted to know how I came up with such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
We loved this recipe!!!! VERY tasty and healthy too! Used a can of black beans and a can of white beans. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This was excellent; quickly wiped out at work, and the recipe was requested by many. I made a few changes- I substituted one can of black beans for one of the black eyed peas, used one can of Ro-Tel and one can of chili-ready tomatoes in place of fresh because I can't find good winter tomatoes here, and added cumin. Other than that I stuck to the recipe, and even 6 days later it's still quite tasty. I made up a burrito with leftovers, and even my EXTREMELY picky 15 month old keeps coming up to me with mouth open for more. Here's how I did it: I took a tortilla, and tore up a slice of cheese and placed 1/4 of it in small pieces down one edge of the tortilla, with the rest near the middle. Microwave 15 seconds to soften. Take 2 T. of the caviar and use a slotted spoon to drain the extra liquid off, and put down the middle of the tortilla. Microwave 30 seconds, add a bit of sour cream, and roll up burrito-style, using the cheese along the edge to seal at the end. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

Pasta Salad with Avocado, Tomato, & Mozzarella

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States