Texas Caviar with Avocado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I made this for a carry-in at work and everyone loved it. I added 2 tbsp fresh cilantro and a few sliced green onions I had on hand as well as a sweet red onion. Perfect for this time of year when the tomatoes are fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Weston, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Spicy and sweet! I really enjoyed this. I used fat-free italian dressing and added a bunch of cilantro that I chopped up. This is good with or without the avocados. If using the avocado, pour some lime juice over it before adding it to the mixture so it doesn't brown up right away. Served with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Made this recently for a BBQ and it was quite a hit. It does make quite a bit. I might halve the recipe next time. I also added the juice of one lime. Seemed like it needed a little citrus flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Great veggie dish, filling and refreshing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRIENNE27

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
The italian dressing did not blend well with the the fresh ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I just love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I added some cilantro and a splash of lime, and used about two ounces of Italian dressing. This will become a staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
i've made this several times and everyone raves about it! Instead of 2 cans of black beans, I only put 1 but I add 1 can of corn. Also, I only add the dressing just enough to coat everything. Otherwise it gets too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Very yummy! I made the italian dressing called for from the recipe on this site, "Italian dressing mix." I highly recommend it! I also used less onion, and it came out great!!!! Served with cheesy doritos, and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Everytime we go to a party, this is what my DH requests me to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States