Texas Caviar with Avocado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
pretty tasty... but i think i added too much italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Wanting a twist on black-eyed peas for New Years Day, I wisely chose this using a homemade dressing instead. No sooner did I set this down in front of the crew and it was gone! I should have doubled, nay, tripled this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Very tasty, and I only eat black-eyed peas because it is "required" in my family to eat them every New Year's Day! My family loved it, too. The only change I made was to squeeze half a lemon on the avocado to keep it from turning brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I TRYED THIS IN MY COOKING CLASS IN MIDDLE SCHOOL AND LOVED IT EVER SINCE IM IN COLLEGE NOW SO ITS BEEN YEARS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This is a really good base recipe. I omitted the avocado & jalapeno, and added a can of corn & about 1/3 cup fresh cilantro. Also, I used the packet of zesty Good Seasons and made my own italian dressing, after reading another review. Wonderful taste, but it can come out a little soupy. Be sure to drain your beans, and next time I think instead of just pouring the 8 oz. of dressing in, I'll add it slowly, stirring between pours to see how the amount of dressing I'm adding in is affecting the 'soupiness'. I'm guessing it probably only really needs maybe 4-5 oz. Other than that, GREAT recipe! I had some with tortilla chips, and later put a few spoonfuls into a whole wheat pita! Thanks for the recipe Kim! (P.S. I've never used that Good Seasons type of dressing before -- it's excellent! So much better than bottled Italian!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
LOVE This! I made this for a dinner party and it was a HUGE hit. I added a bunch of cilantro...yum! I added one can of Black-eye peas and one can of Black Beans. I'm from Texas and every Year's Day I make a Black Eyed Pea dish for health, wealth and prosperity for the new year. This will be my new Black-eyed Pea New Years recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
excellent! Used the suggested amount of peppers and it had just enough kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I halved the recipe and used kidney beans instead of black-eyed peas! Super yummy! Served it with fish tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Wonderful, I used only about 4 ounces of Italian dressing and one can of black beans as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Made a half recipe of this today and it tasted so good. I made one change. I used black beans because I didn't have any black eyed peas on hand. I put the mixture on top French bread that I cut on the bias, toasted under the broiler. Rubbed half a head of garlic against each piece and then brushed just a bit of EVOO on it. Made a wonderful topping for brochette. I'll keep this one for future use for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States