Texas Caviar with Avocado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Very tasty, and I only eat black-eyed peas because it is "required" in my family to eat them every New Year's Day! My family loved it, too. The only change I made was to squeeze half a lemon on the avocado to keep it from turning brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I TRYED THIS IN MY COOKING CLASS IN MIDDLE SCHOOL AND LOVED IT EVER SINCE IM IN COLLEGE NOW SO ITS BEEN YEARS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This is a really good base recipe. I omitted the avocado & jalapeno, and added a can of corn & about 1/3 cup fresh cilantro. Also, I used the packet of zesty Good Seasons and made my own italian dressing, after reading another review. Wonderful taste, but it can come out a little soupy. Be sure to drain your beans, and next time I think instead of just pouring the 8 oz. of dressing in, I'll add it slowly, stirring between pours to see how the amount of dressing I'm adding in is affecting the 'soupiness'. I'm guessing it probably only really needs maybe 4-5 oz. Other than that, GREAT recipe! I had some with tortilla chips, and later put a few spoonfuls into a whole wheat pita! Thanks for the recipe Kim! (P.S. I've never used that Good Seasons type of dressing before -- it's excellent! So much better than bottled Italian!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
LOVE This! I made this for a dinner party and it was a HUGE hit. I added a bunch of cilantro...yum! I added one can of Black-eye peas and one can of Black Beans. I'm from Texas and every Year's Day I make a Black Eyed Pea dish for health, wealth and prosperity for the new year. This will be my new Black-eyed Pea New Years recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
excellent! Used the suggested amount of peppers and it had just enough kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I halved the recipe and used kidney beans instead of black-eyed peas! Super yummy! Served it with fish tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Wonderful, I used only about 4 ounces of Italian dressing and one can of black beans as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Made a half recipe of this today and it tasted so good. I made one change. I used black beans because I didn't have any black eyed peas on hand. I put the mixture on top French bread that I cut on the bias, toasted under the broiler. Rubbed half a head of garlic against each piece and then brushed just a bit of EVOO on it. Made a wonderful topping for brochette. I'll keep this one for future use for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Great recipe, I couldnt find black eyed peas so I used 2 cans of black beans. Also only used 1/2 cup of italian dressing, a handfull of chopped cilantro, and 3 avacados beccause we love them! this was GREAT! will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weeproductions

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I dislike black eyed peas, so I substituted them for 1 can of Black beans, rinsed and 1 can of dark red kidney beans, rinsed. Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States