Texas Caviar with Avocado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I added cilantro to this and instead of 2 cans of black eyed peas, I did 1 can black eyed and 1 can black beans. It was a huge hit at our party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by perrytew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
CAN YOU SAY DELICIOUS?! I love this recipe and I added my own touch some cilantro and black beans instead of the peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Easy recipe, perfect for parties. Tastes great even if you don't normally care for black eyed peas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheJude
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
After being introduced to this recipe at a Christmas Party last year, I fell in love with it. I made it last New Year's and again this year. I can't eat the cayenne peper or jalapeno pepper - so to help preserve the flavor issue I use a can of Rotel tomatoes instead (of course, I have to use the mild ones). I also do not use quite as much Italian dressing as the recipe calls for . . . I go by taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This was ok but I think a really huge part of whether you will like this or not is the type of Italian dressing you use. I used regular Wishbone Italian and the resulting dip was almost sweet. It really needs a very vinegary, tangy Italian dressing to make it work (IMHO). I was making this for a crowd so I took it easy on the cayenne, but I kept adding more to the leftovers to help liven it up and counteract the sweetness of the dressing. I also used 1 can black eyes peas (in the canned vegetable section of my grocery store if you are having trouble finding them) and 1 black beans. Good, makes a ton, people liked it, but it would have been much better with a different dressing. I will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Used this for a fundraiser event a few years ago. We won out of about 20 appetizers. Make it a lot for get togethers and the bowl is always empty at the end of the evening. Excellent recipe, but in the winter I use canned diced tomatoes. Wish I could give t more than 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly as written for a potluck at work. I made everything the night before then added the avocado when I got to work just before serving. It was a major hit! I'll be making this for a long time to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Maybe this could be a better tasting recipe with the absolute best tasting italian salad dressing. I used Kraft, maybe with a premium dressing it would be better. A market near us makes this basically the same, and it was a whole lot better............
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
When I make this, it simply disappears, like magic. What a great combination of flavors, textures, etc. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Not bad, easy to put together. It was a little bland for us so I added some cyanne pepper and put another handful of jalapenos in along with some banana peppers. Next time I'll add a can of corn! took it to the office and it was gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wycoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States