Texas Caviar with Avocado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KMLAWN
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
Hi, I posted this recipe...just wanted to add, I use WishBone Italian dressing and also black beans which can substitute for the black-eyed peas (I usually do one of each if I can, but sometimes the black-eyed peas are hard to find). This is ALWAYS a huge hit, people ask me over and over to make it, you can adjust the spice level and even kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
This was so delicious and easy to make! We had to omit the avacado (they were unripe) and added 1/2 c. of fresh chopped cilantro - served them with Fritos Scoops and everyone thought it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Yummy! I made this to take to work today, two hours later it's all gone... Perfect as is, I wouldn't change a thing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This was a big hit. I used one can of black eyed peas and one can of black beans. Next time I will use more pepper or jalapeno to give it a little more kick. I also used more avacado than what was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
Delightful as is. The medley of ingredients were appetizing looking and delicious! I may mash up the black-eyed peas (only) in the food processor next time to see if it's a little more traditional dip-like. Fantastic way to eat beans (peas). Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
Absolutly delicious!! Served with tortilla chips and had NO left-overs. Even my picky teenager loved it. Will definatly make again!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
"The Best"! Try this one - you'll like it. If by some miracle you have any left over, experiement with some of your favorite add-ins like a bit of shredded meat, a spoonful of sour. cream, chopped black olives and stuff into a corn tortilla or pita for lunch. Thanks Kim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
Served this at a new year's eve party - huge hit! Very simple but the flavors are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
This is delicious! Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
It was great even though I left out the peas and jalapenos...and I just used regular pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leakey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States