Texas Caviar with Avocado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Oh Yummo! I used one can of black beans and one of the black eyed peas, jarred jalapenos since the FDA currently has the ban on fresh ones, and reduced fat Kraft zesty italian dressing and this is really one awesome recipe. I left out the cayenne and it had just enough kick without making you reach for water. Definitely a pot-luck type dip and we'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fleur de Lisa
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This was super easy and really good! I didn't even know I liked black eyed peas. I would recommend less dressing; I will try 3/4 c. next time. I used 3 California avocadoes and it was still a little bit too much liquid. (I will also look for a healthier dressing alternative as the oil is the only un-healthy part of this recipe). I used a can of diced green chilies instead of jalapenos, only because it was cheaper and easier. I added a dash of lemon juice to keep the avocado from turning. I got busy during the party and actually forgot to put this out. Much to my surprise, it kept really well overnight and was delicious the next day. Of course it is delicious with Fritos Scoops, but it is also great with whole grain crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fleur de Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I wasn't sure about this recipe, I think because of the Italian dressing, but it got such great reviews I decided to try it. It was wonderful! I love the avocado in it. I did use one can of black beans and one can black-eyed peas and I added cilantro. I made it for a potluck and everyone loved it. This will replace my other recipe for bean dip which was much more time consuming. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This is excellent! I used a bit less jalapeno and onion than it called for, added black olives, and topped with salsa and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This is one of my favorite salads...I know people use this as a dip, I eat it as a salad. I also like to put this over salad greens. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Just made this dip this afternoon and loved it. I am taking this to a bike ride get together. I picked this one due to no mayo or anything else to spoil in the heat. I used 1 can of black beans and 1 can of blackeyed peas. Added some garlic and fresh squeezed lime. A must. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fall River, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Liked this recipe, but I wonder if it would be better warm? Be sure to rinse the beans well, or else the colors don't stand out as well. I used this for the "good luck" black-eyed pea portion of a new year's party menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LittleMissCooker
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Very good. I made this recipe for teh 2008 superbowl and it was a hit! Everyone was asking me "what's in this?" "where did you get this recipe?" and much more. One thing I would like to add though is to use 1 can of black beans, and 1 can of black-eyed peas instead of just 2 cans of black-eyed peas. Also, let this recipe sit in the fridge for atleast 3 hours to let all the juices come together. Then, right before serving add teh avacodo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This was a favorite dip at our Neighborhood New Year's Eve Party. I found the recipe and pulled all the ingredients out, but my husband put it together. I am not sure if he used too much Italian dressing, but I would use less to make it less soupy. The flavor was outstanding and just wonderful blend of seasoning on the taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
It was delicious, but I tinkered with it a little bit to suit my own tastes. I omitted the jalepeno, and added a can of drained sweet corn and a small can of drained, sliced olives. Excellent! Everyone wanted to know how I came up with such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States