Texas Caviar with Avocado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I cant say enough about this one! I made it for our new years eve party and it was such a hit that I had an empty bowl before midnight! I didnt change anything in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Yummy recipe. I substituted a can of black beans and a can of sweet corn for the black-eyed peas and added about 1/2 cup chopped red bell peppers. My husband can't keep his hands off it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Excellent recipe. I was a little leery of the Italian dressing, and I only used about half of what the recipe called for, but the flavor of the ingredients together was great. We are Weight Watchers, so I used a fat-free Italian dressing, and will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Very yummy. I used one can of black beans and one can of "trappys" black eyed peas. It went very quickly at our party. Will make again!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This is great! I reduced the amount of italian dressing by half, added fresh cilantro and lime juice. Next time I want to try with 1 can of black beans and 1 can of black eye peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
awesome, quick crowd pleaser. added cilantro and fresh lime juice. outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Made this on a whim for our traditional New Years' Day get together just to have something with black eyed peas and everyone raved about it. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I totally tweeked this recipe, only because I had cherry tomatoes and didn't want to chop up tiny tomatoes. I made recipe as posted, except I used cherry tomatoes, omitted the jalapeno peppers (because I was serving it to my kids), and added mozzerella pieces and black olives. This was more of a spoon/fork salad for us than a dip. Didn't matter...it was fantastic!! We served this on New Year's Eve and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Delicious! Made this for New Years Eve with the Black Eyed-Peas. It was exceptional! I added some fresh cilantro and eyeballed the dressing to lightly coat. I also added a spritz of lime juice. Will make this over & over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I make mine without the italian dressing. When chilled the oil in the dressing congeals. To the black-eyed peas you add one finely chopped onion, a couple of tomatoes diced small, fresh not canned, I can of Ro-Tel Mexican flavor (this is the lime seasoned Ro-Tel) 1 jalapeno minced. If your mouth is tender make your jalapeno sans seeds. Do NOT drain the can of Ro-Tel, the juices in it take the place of the dressing for moisture, 1 small bunch of cilantro chopped medium-fine. Avocado chopped medium-fine is a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States