Texas Caviar with Avocado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Excellent recipe. I was a little leery of the Italian dressing, and I only used about half of what the recipe called for, but the flavor of the ingredients together was great. We are Weight Watchers, so I used a fat-free Italian dressing, and will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Very yummy. I used one can of black beans and one can of "trappys" black eyed peas. It went very quickly at our party. Will make again!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This is great! I reduced the amount of italian dressing by half, added fresh cilantro and lime juice. Next time I want to try with 1 can of black beans and 1 can of black eye peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
awesome, quick crowd pleaser. added cilantro and fresh lime juice. outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Made this on a whim for our traditional New Years' Day get together just to have something with black eyed peas and everyone raved about it. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I totally tweeked this recipe, only because I had cherry tomatoes and didn't want to chop up tiny tomatoes. I made recipe as posted, except I used cherry tomatoes, omitted the jalapeno peppers (because I was serving it to my kids), and added mozzerella pieces and black olives. This was more of a spoon/fork salad for us than a dip. Didn't matter...it was fantastic!! We served this on New Year's Eve and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Delicious! Made this for New Years Eve with the Black Eyed-Peas. It was exceptional! I added some fresh cilantro and eyeballed the dressing to lightly coat. I also added a spritz of lime juice. Will make this over & over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I make mine without the italian dressing. When chilled the oil in the dressing congeals. To the black-eyed peas you add one finely chopped onion, a couple of tomatoes diced small, fresh not canned, I can of Ro-Tel Mexican flavor (this is the lime seasoned Ro-Tel) 1 jalapeno minced. If your mouth is tender make your jalapeno sans seeds. Do NOT drain the can of Ro-Tel, the juices in it take the place of the dressing for moisture, 1 small bunch of cilantro chopped medium-fine. Avocado chopped medium-fine is a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This dip was so easy and so good! It makes a lot, but holds over well, if by some miracle it's not all gone the first time you serve it. I used one can of black-eyed peas and one can of black beans and it came out perfect. All the people at the party raved over it and I had several requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was okay but a little watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States