Texas Caviar with Avocado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
When I make this, it simply disappears, like magic. What a great combination of flavors, textures, etc. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Not bad, easy to put together. It was a little bland for us so I added some cyanne pepper and put another handful of jalapenos in along with some banana peppers. Next time I'll add a can of corn! took it to the office and it was gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wycoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I love this and I HATE black-eyed peas! The only change I made was the addition of a few cloves of finely minced garlic. I really hate black-eyed peas! As a Southerner, I feel compelled to eat them on New Year's Day for luck and have long sought a recipe that made the dreaded peas somewhat palatable. I made a second batch of this a few days after New Year's Day (the first was long gone!) and I ate it as a salad. YUM! Black-eyed peas aren't just for New Year's anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This dip is wonderful! Took it to a New Years Eve party and was a huge hit! The longer its in the fridge the better it is. Made it in the am to take that night. I served it with scoop Fritos, Flax tortilla chips, and Blue Corn tortilla chips. I was looking for variety and all three worked perfectly. This wonderful "salsa" would be fantastic with grilled chicken or a meaty fish like grouper or Mahi. Very light and super flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
My family liked this recipe a lot. I may go a little lighter on the Italian dressing next time. I don't think it needed the entire 8 oz. I also don't do so well with the hot peppers, so I went for a milder poblano. Thanks so much for sharing! I would have never thought to use black-eyed peas in a dip like this, but they were great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPIFFYTIF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I make this but I use frozen blackeyed peas which have been cooked. Much better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Great, easy recipe. Also forgiving- I have made many adjustments to it over time, depending on what was in season/in my pantry. This usually gets eaten before the party is over! If you must make it ahead of time, to keep the avocados from turning brown cover the bowl w/ a plate or plastic wrap which lays directly on the salad. This limits contact with air, which contributes to the oxidation and brown discoloration of avacados
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Great as is! But I add a dash of lime juice, fresh corn (EXCELLENT addition), one can of black beans & one black eyed peas (instead of 2 blk eye peas), and a red and yellow pepper. I also cut back on the dressing by about half and use a red onion. Summer time favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Fabulous....take this to a party and be the hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa
Living In: Seabrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Awesome! Everyone raves. I use Newman's italian dressing and don't use avocado. Best with fritos :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleLibra89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States