Texas Caviar with Avocado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I love this and I HATE black-eyed peas! The only change I made was the addition of a few cloves of finely minced garlic. I really hate black-eyed peas! As a Southerner, I feel compelled to eat them on New Year's Day for luck and have long sought a recipe that made the dreaded peas somewhat palatable. I made a second batch of this a few days after New Year's Day (the first was long gone!) and I ate it as a salad. YUM! Black-eyed peas aren't just for New Year's anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This dip is wonderful! Took it to a New Years Eve party and was a huge hit! The longer its in the fridge the better it is. Made it in the am to take that night. I served it with scoop Fritos, Flax tortilla chips, and Blue Corn tortilla chips. I was looking for variety and all three worked perfectly. This wonderful "salsa" would be fantastic with grilled chicken or a meaty fish like grouper or Mahi. Very light and super flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
My family liked this recipe a lot. I may go a little lighter on the Italian dressing next time. I don't think it needed the entire 8 oz. I also don't do so well with the hot peppers, so I went for a milder poblano. Thanks so much for sharing! I would have never thought to use black-eyed peas in a dip like this, but they were great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPIFFYTIF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I make this but I use frozen blackeyed peas which have been cooked. Much better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Great, easy recipe. Also forgiving- I have made many adjustments to it over time, depending on what was in season/in my pantry. This usually gets eaten before the party is over! If you must make it ahead of time, to keep the avocados from turning brown cover the bowl w/ a plate or plastic wrap which lays directly on the salad. This limits contact with air, which contributes to the oxidation and brown discoloration of avacados
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Great as is! But I add a dash of lime juice, fresh corn (EXCELLENT addition), one can of black beans & one black eyed peas (instead of 2 blk eye peas), and a red and yellow pepper. I also cut back on the dressing by about half and use a red onion. Summer time favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Fabulous....take this to a party and be the hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa
Living In: Seabrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Awesome! Everyone raves. I use Newman's italian dressing and don't use avocado. Best with fritos :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleLibra89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
pretty tasty... but i think i added too much italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Wanting a twist on black-eyed peas for New Years Day, I wisely chose this using a homemade dressing instead. No sooner did I set this down in front of the crew and it was gone! I should have doubled, nay, tripled this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States