Texas Caviar with Avocado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This was excellent; quickly wiped out at work, and the recipe was requested by many. I made a few changes- I substituted one can of black beans for one of the black eyed peas, used one can of Ro-Tel and one can of chili-ready tomatoes in place of fresh because I can't find good winter tomatoes here, and added cumin. Other than that I stuck to the recipe, and even 6 days later it's still quite tasty. I made up a burrito with leftovers, and even my EXTREMELY picky 15 month old keeps coming up to me with mouth open for more. Here's how I did it: I took a tortilla, and tore up a slice of cheese and placed 1/4 of it in small pieces down one edge of the tortilla, with the rest near the middle. Microwave 15 seconds to soften. Take 2 T. of the caviar and use a slotted spoon to drain the extra liquid off, and put down the middle of the tortilla. Microwave 30 seconds, add a bit of sour cream, and roll up burrito-style, using the cheese along the edge to seal at the end. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I like black eyed peas and if you do also, you will like this dip/or rather salsa. It was not the hit I hoped for at my New Years party but I think it is because black eyed peas are an acquired taste. This recipe is delicious though, and I ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Excellent. I added a little corn and some fresh parsley. It got rave reviews and was the hit of the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Excellent variation on Texas Caviar. I didn't have Italian dressing, so I omitted that and instead added the juice of one lime, salt and pepper, a couple tablespoons of cilantro and some garlic. Next time, I'm going to try some orange juice instead of lime, because that always brightens up avocado. As with salsas, it's best to let this rest for 15-20 minutes before serving to let the flavors meld a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
After reading the reviews, I made a few changes-used black beans, Rotel and added corn, and we think this dish is yummy! Next time I will add some minced garlic and cilantro to the mix as well, but this dish is easy and delicious. Perfect party food! Thank you for sharing your recipe, Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made this to take to a New Year's Eve party. It was scrumptious! I took the suggestion of Kim and used the Wishbone Italian Dressing. I used one can of Bush's Blackeyed Peas and one can of Bush's Black Beans. I was a tiny bit heavy handed with the cayene pepper, so needless to say it was cha-cha-cha Hot! The next time I will use a lighter dusting...lol This recipe was enjoyed by all. Before going home my friends requested a copy of this recipe. Thanks Kim for such a simple, easy, tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindsay
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was wonderful and very light and fresh tasting. I couldn't find black eyed peas, so I used black beans, and added some fresh cilantro. This dip would be even more beautiful with some corn added in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Very nice. Made this today and DH and I enjoyed it. I used Rotel in place of the onions, tomatoes and jalapenos, and zesty italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
One of my favorite dips, sooo delicious! I substitute chopped green onion for the sweet onion and add a clove of minced garlic. Such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Looooove this dish. Add some fresh cilantro, a little garlic and a splash of lime juice for freshness if you'd like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Highland Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States