Texas Caviar with Avocado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I have made this recipe a lot and everyone always asks me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abigail
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Add a little bit more avocado and some lemon juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
We have only received compliments when making this delicious dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I added cilantro to this and instead of 2 cans of black eyed peas, I did 1 can black eyed and 1 can black beans. It was a huge hit at our party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by perrytew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
CAN YOU SAY DELICIOUS?! I love this recipe and I added my own touch some cilantro and black beans instead of the peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Easy recipe, perfect for parties. Tastes great even if you don't normally care for black eyed peas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheJude
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
After being introduced to this recipe at a Christmas Party last year, I fell in love with it. I made it last New Year's and again this year. I can't eat the cayenne peper or jalapeno pepper - so to help preserve the flavor issue I use a can of Rotel tomatoes instead (of course, I have to use the mild ones). I also do not use quite as much Italian dressing as the recipe calls for . . . I go by taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This was ok but I think a really huge part of whether you will like this or not is the type of Italian dressing you use. I used regular Wishbone Italian and the resulting dip was almost sweet. It really needs a very vinegary, tangy Italian dressing to make it work (IMHO). I was making this for a crowd so I took it easy on the cayenne, but I kept adding more to the leftovers to help liven it up and counteract the sweetness of the dressing. I also used 1 can black eyes peas (in the canned vegetable section of my grocery store if you are having trouble finding them) and 1 black beans. Good, makes a ton, people liked it, but it would have been much better with a different dressing. I will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Used this for a fundraiser event a few years ago. We won out of about 20 appetizers. Make it a lot for get togethers and the bowl is always empty at the end of the evening. Excellent recipe, but in the winter I use canned diced tomatoes. Wish I could give t more than 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly as written for a potluck at work. I made everything the night before then added the avocado when I got to work just before serving. It was a major hit! I'll be making this for a long time to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States