Texas Caviar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I have made many dfferent variations of this recipe. They have all been good. This one is no exception. Very colorful! Pretty healthy with lots of veggies and fiber from beans/peas. I used an olive oil based italian dressing. Can used baked chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Used lemon juice instead of italian dressing. Very good and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I made this for an open house party we had at our business. I made a ton of different stuff from truffles to shrimp dip. This was hands down the favorite with everyone. People just couldn't get enough. I served this in scoops with about a tablespoon in each. It looked fabulous too. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
What a wonderful surprise! The colors are ery inviting and the taste is soo fresh! I made it and ate it alone (added avocado), in tortillas as part of a quesadilla and with chips. I can't wait to put it on top of some grilled chicken or steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Pakkala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I make this a lot, but one thing I like to do to these types of bean, corn, Tex-mex salsas is to use some Sprite/ 7-Up, any citrus soda I have on hand it gives it an extra interesting flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I doubled the recipe and used a half of a green, red, yellow, and orange bell pepper. Instead of the cherry tomatoes I substituted two cans of Rotel. Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Great! I don't know anybody who doesn't like this stuff. I used 4 oz. only of Ken's Zesty Italian, 2 jalapenos didn't make it too hot (and I don't like "hot"); used dried cilantro, canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh; needs to sit at least 2 hrs., but the longer the better; served with tortilla chips - so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was a huge hit for New Years Eve for my family. Even my 6 yr old loved it. Next time I will make 2 batches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ollied

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rosedale, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Wonderful as a salsa or bean medley side dish. I served it with tortilla chips but it was so tasty it stands on its own two feet. My guests loved this recipe and I will definitely make again. Thank you for the contribution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Winchester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was great! Using half black beans & half black-eyed peas was perfect and tastes much better than some other recipes I saw using all peas. I did fiddle a little based on some other reviews: I did not use tomatoes since family members don't like them; I added corn instead. Kept the seasonings the same except put in red onion (for some color) and used a couple tablespoons of recaito (cilantro base; in ethnic foods aisle) since I had no fresh cilantro on hand. I like using recaito since I find I can use less salad dressing that way & cut down on fat. I will definitely make this again -- maybe today :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States