Texas Caviar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Excellent! I left out the tomatoes (not a fan) and added a can of corn. I made this last weekend for a Labor Day cookout and will make it again this weekend for a football party. Go Ravens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pikesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I used mixed color bell peppers (red, orange, yellow and green) since I was also using them for Fajitas and had bought the mixed peppers. That with the other colors made it beautiful. As always I used some salt, a little cajun spice and a dash of hot sauce because the jalapenos alone at first didn't seem to make it hot enough. Well, good thing we like it hot. As it sat the next couple of days in the fridge it got even better and hotter. So good. I'd come home from work and just have some with chips! A real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Huge hit at my sister's rehearsal dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
great dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.Bonita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Good, simple, do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I used a red onion for some sweetness, substituted corn for the black eyed peas and added avacado. I like this recipe. It is easy to tweek to fit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This is SOO yummy! Perfect for a nice summer day! I plan on making this all the time. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This was delicious! Made it exactly as the recipe stated. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Great recipe. I couldn't find canned black eyed peas so I used a 2nd can of black beans. I also added a can of corn for color and crunch. The fresh cilantro makes this recipe so fresh and tasty. It makes a ton so I used the leftovers for dinner the next night in a tortilla with chicken. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This was quite tasty. With that being said I had to sub ingredients for very similar ones I had in the house. I also did a half a recipe but kept the amount of beans the same as the full recipe and used low-sodium ones. I didn't have a green pepper but had yellow and used that. It gave it a nice sweet after taste, so I guess that was a good substitution. I left out the jalepeno because I don't like dishes too hot, but it still had a slight kick to it anyway. I had black beans for the recipe, but no black eyed peas, so I used pinto beans in place of them. I used a regular tomato in place of the cherry tomatoes and I didn't have cilantro so I left the garnish off. Regardless, of any changes I made out of convenience, it went really well with baked corn chips and there was no complaints. The only downside is it didn't refridgerate to well, I thought, so I would only make what would be eaten that day. It is best fresh in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States