Texas Caviar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Excellent. Great for something when you may neither want to cook nor sit at the table but crowd around in the living room's TV.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Didn't refrigerate...ate immediately! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
My family loves this and is my go-to for summer get togethers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I used 28 ounce can of diced tomatoes and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I felt this was "OK". The zesty italian dressing flavor was too strong for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Made this for the Super Bowl as a healthier option and it was a big hit! Followed recipe exactly except the supermarket was out of scallions, and I couldn't find black-eyed peas. I ended up using one can pinto beans, one can black beans, one can garbanzo beans, and one can hominy. I also reduced the Zesty Italian dressing to about a half bottle. The fresh cilantro is a MUST....so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Very good. Didn't use coriander, but did add cilantro before chilling and it's ok to do. A hit at my daugter's party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
this recipe is very similar to one I have from a 5 star cookbook. the instructions state to let it sit for 3 days (stirring daily) before serving (at room temp is best) so the flavors blend together. - that is really the key element here. tried it before then, and the flavors were okay, bland ... so much more flavorful if you let it sit. I also add a can of yellow hominy, only 4 oz of zesty italian dressing, no coriander or cilantro. I use the scoop tostitos, they work best to scoop up the flavors. for any food day at work, i have to bring this dish - - it's addicting..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Substitute faves for hates and as long as the amounts are the same this comes out excellent. Truly excellent to eat and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedeeaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was great. I served it on New Year's Day for my lunch guests and they practically licked the bowl clean. I liked how easy it was to throw together and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MayberryGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States