Texas Caviar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This was excellent. I served it for my 4th of July party and everyone loved it. I love all the fresh ingredients! I also just add enough italian dressing to coat. I have added corn, it's good either way. I use multi colored peppers. I am a BIG fan of chips and salsa, and I haven't bought salsa again after I discovered this! I often whip this up to take to work or serve along side supper, its a good way to get your veggies. I have made it with just black eyed peas,tomato,sweet onion,jalapeno, and dressing, cause thats all I had and I was craving this! It tasted great like that too. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvercin29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Republic, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burgoon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This was good, took it to a picnic and had almost none leftover
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyHubbysWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Made for a big birthday party - perfect with colorful blue corn tortilla chips. Followed others' advice and omitted cilantro; also used multi-color peppers to add more variety, plus added 1 can of mexicorn, and cut back on the amount of dressing (Kraft Zesty Italian) Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Thank you for sharing this fabulous recipe. It is very fresh tasting and goes great with chips and guacamole or any other Tex-Mex dish (and a cold beer or some sangria)! It has become a big family favorite - especially with my husband and all the other men. I agree that it needs a few hours (or better yet overnight) for the flavors to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Very good recipe, but be forwarned: quality of ingredients really makes or breaks this recipe. I made it the first time as written, with fresh tomatoes, and it was absolutely devoured. I made it again, with canned tomatoes and the results were drastically different. It barely got touched. If you are going to use canned tomatoes, make sure they are a good quality, preferably with the coated lining that prevents the tomatoes from taking on "that canned tomato taste."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Fabulous! I've made this twice with a few variations using the comments of others. I added a can of corn and used a can of petite diced tomatoes. I also added fresh lime juice and some garlic - I like spicy. I didn't use the entire bottle of dressing - just enough for a good coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This is AWESOME for tailgating! Have done a few variations with the beans and onions and added a few Thai peppers to give it an EXTRA kick. Make sure to let it sit overnight before serving so the flavors can meld. We had guys just eating it by itself after they ran out of tortilla chips....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This is excellent for parties and just for a refreshing snack. My son in law loves this. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Festive colors and great flavor. I did not have fresh cilantro, and added corn but was still very good. Only down size is the large amount that it makes. The flavor does get better overnight but you loose the color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Silvey Goetz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This is the bomb! When my husband sees me on this site, he groans. But when I made this for him ... he asked for more. So now he's not too bothered when I experiment... err practice. I've done some of the variations that others have posted (like mexicali-corn or avacado) and it still comes out GREAT. Wonderful for New Years Eve/Day ... as Black-Eyed Peas are a tradition of that time of year. We eat this with corn-chip scoops -- yummy. Thanks for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SgtP2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States