Texas Caviar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This is excellent for parties and just for a refreshing snack. My son in law loves this. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Festive colors and great flavor. I did not have fresh cilantro, and added corn but was still very good. Only down size is the large amount that it makes. The flavor does get better overnight but you loose the color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Silvey Goetz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This is the bomb! When my husband sees me on this site, he groans. But when I made this for him ... he asked for more. So now he's not too bothered when I experiment... err practice. I've done some of the variations that others have posted (like mexicali-corn or avacado) and it still comes out GREAT. Wonderful for New Years Eve/Day ... as Black-Eyed Peas are a tradition of that time of year. We eat this with corn-chip scoops -- yummy. Thanks for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SgtP2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Awesome! Took this to bachelorette party and food day at work, both groups loved it. Added corn as suggested and used low-fat Italian dressing to keep it light for the bride-to-be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Great crowd pleaser! Everyone wanted the recipe for their collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Charles City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
YUM! One of those can't-lose recipes. Is always a favorite of the men in the crowd (though we gals love it too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
This is really good. I think even picky eaters like this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLBUTL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Delicious. I made this without the ground corriander. I used a can of petite diced tomatoes-- but then ended up adding 3 chopped plum tomatoes. Next time I will cut back a little on the salad dressing-- perhaps pouring out an ounce or two of the oil in the salad dressing. It gives off alot of liquid and with the salad dressing there's even more liquid. It's definitely better after it has set up-- but not more than 3 days. I ended up throwing a bit of it out on the third day. I am planning a party and will be using this recipie-- it really is delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This stuff is incredible! My whole family loves it and craves it. My husband just sits and eats it with a spoon. It has become a regular at family gatherings. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SFORD1024

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Great for a party. A very hearty dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States