Texas Caviar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I just got another request to prepare this recipe for a party and realized I hadn't reviewed it! Delicious! Make it ahead and it just gets better. Great with Fr*to Scoops so you can get a huge mouthful with each scoop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
So delicious I can't stop eating it. It can be served on top of grilled chicken and is tasty that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie O.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I served this as a dip with baked corn chips on Thanksgiving and people seemed to really like it. I substituted one can of mexicorn for the black eyed peas and used a little less dressing than called for. I also seeded one of the jalapenos which made it just spicy enough for my family. I made this the night before and let it sit overnight in the fridge, which I felt helped the flavors blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I just made this for a party and got raves reviews. I skipped the coriander and bell pepper, I took another reviewer's advice and used a small can of petite canned tomatoes. I only added about 2-3 oz of zesty Italian salad dressing and added the juice of one very juicy lime. I was sure to drain and rinse the beans before I used them so they were not too sticky. This one is a keeper for sure -easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb. B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Diamond Vale, Diego Martin, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I did make a lot of additions to my version of this recipe, but the base was fantastic and the proportions were perfect for spicy-ness. I wanted to make a main dish out of it, so I added tinned tuna, which was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I added an extra jalapeno, and used half a bunch of cilantro. I think next time I will also use maybe only 4 ounces of dressing, and add more if needed, it is hard to take away! Also, I used leftovers on top of spinach for a yummy salad for lunch or dinner!, (addition: two days later, I mixed what was left with some quinoa (or you could use orzo, or small pasta), and made a pasta salad with it....we ate every last bite of this!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLINKETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
We had this at a graduation party, it was awesome. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I love this recipe! I will use it from now on. I did substitute one can of hot Rotel tomatoes for the chopped cherry tomatoes and jalapenos. It turned out delicious!!! I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priscilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I've made this dip numerous times, but I usually skip the green onions, cilantro and coriander because it's not something I keep on-hand. It's always a crowd pleaser. Use red onion for color and throw in a can of Rotel instead of the cherry tomatoes. Goes great with Scoops. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UGAXena

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I loved this but skipped the jalapenos to make it more mild and used balsamic and olive oil instead of italian dressing...it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Encino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States