Texas Caviar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I doubled the recipe and used a half of a green, red, yellow, and orange bell pepper. Instead of the cherry tomatoes I substituted two cans of Rotel. Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Great! I don't know anybody who doesn't like this stuff. I used 4 oz. only of Ken's Zesty Italian, 2 jalapenos didn't make it too hot (and I don't like "hot"); used dried cilantro, canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh; needs to sit at least 2 hrs., but the longer the better; served with tortilla chips - so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was a huge hit for New Years Eve for my family. Even my 6 yr old loved it. Next time I will make 2 batches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ollied

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rosedale, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Wonderful as a salsa or bean medley side dish. I served it with tortilla chips but it was so tasty it stands on its own two feet. My guests loved this recipe and I will definitely make again. Thank you for the contribution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Winchester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was great! Using half black beans & half black-eyed peas was perfect and tastes much better than some other recipes I saw using all peas. I did fiddle a little based on some other reviews: I did not use tomatoes since family members don't like them; I added corn instead. Kept the seasonings the same except put in red onion (for some color) and used a couple tablespoons of recaito (cilantro base; in ethnic foods aisle) since I had no fresh cilantro on hand. I like using recaito since I find I can use less salad dressing that way & cut down on fat. I will definitely make this again -- maybe today :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I took this to a New Year's party, and it was a HUGE hit! I changed a few things, just to make it a little easier on myself. I used fresh black-eye peas instead of canned and a bunch of parsley instead of cilantro (some people are weird about cilantro), and a can of fire-roasted tomatoes for extra flavor and less prep time. I also seeded one of the jalapenos, and it was neither too hot nor too bland. And I let it sit a day to blend the flavors. Thanks for a great recipe that will be one of my go-tos for parties and potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Served it a a NYE party to rave reveiews and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ted Streuli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Excellent! We added Cumin instead of coriander (did not have on hand). Also added 1/4 cup of lemon juice and a dash of lemon salt shavings. I roasted the jalapenos in the over first. Serving this tomorrow night with thinly sliced sour dough baguette slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSIECUEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Bear Lake, California, USA
Living In: Los Osos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I have made this recipe many times; it's especially good for potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is a staple at every party and get together I have. I change it up a bit every time I make it. But it's a favorite! I always add a red pepper and a half a red onion for more colour - it ends up being a pretty good looking dish. Serve it in a wide white bowl and you are set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States