Texas Brownies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
I am a BIG fan of Norma's original Texas Brownie recipe. These are also wonderful. Nice cake-like brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
I have made this recipe several times. It is more of a cake than a brownie...but it is delicious and moist. I always use plain yogurt instead of the buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
We LOVE this recipe and no matter what you call it (texas sheet cake brownies, texas brownies or buttermilk brownies) it is all good. For the frosting, I also used buttermilk in place of the milk, which adds extra richness and a nice tangy chocolate flavor. Thank you for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belinda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
These are awesome! They are more like a cake than a brownie. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I made these and brought them to work for a co-worker who is from Texes, it was her birthday. Everyone raved about them! I feel bad....the brownies took the spotlight over her birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
easy to make and taste great....I have made them twice in the last few weeks and they are a big hit......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
MMM! this makes ALOT of brownie so if your just wanting a small portion recalculate. i was just trying to make enough for 2/4 and got so much rich chocolaty goodness i gave 3 portions away for the holidays. but it was GREAT! not a brownie but more like a heavy decadent ultra chocolate cake and the icing was awesome. of course i doubled the cocoa :) its the only way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I loved this recipe and so did my husband, especially with a scoop of good vanilla ice cream. I had to make a few changes because I can't find buttermilk in my town in Mexico; I used 1 cup of sour cream for the buttermilk, used 10 tbsp. of cocoa rather than 4-1/2 tbsp., used 1 cup of coffee for 1 cup of water, and added 1 large tsp. of cinnamon. I frosted with a can of frosting I had in the cupboard. They were great, very cakey and really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I absolutely loved these Texas brownies, so did my husband. They are moist and delicious! Make sure you pour the frosting on while its hot for it sets quickly once out of the pot. I had made these a few years ago and lost the recipe. I am so glad I found it! Thanks Norma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willow Springs, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Definitely a cake - not a brownie, tho i think the size & richness qualifies this to be called Texas Brownies! Speaking of size - this recipe made TWO jelly roll pans (so i doubled the frosting) - i was afraid of a big mess if i only used one pan. So wonderful & made enough to share with friends & freeze some for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Metcalf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chandler, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States