Texas Brazil Nut Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
The baking time was too long. The cake was too crunchy and hard to cut. I poured some rum over the loaf and let it sit for a day. Unfortunately the cake fell apart. Now I serve it in a bowl. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Thanx so much for this recipe. It turned out AWESOME! Thanx again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
double the batter, so it sticks together better. and if making in smaller sized loafs, reduce the bake time. ffk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I think some ingredient is missing from this. It came out way too dry. I followed the directions exactly. Not enough batter for the nuts and fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I might've done something wrong (like use slightly smaller pans), because the fruit mixture was enough for a double recipe. I saved half of the fruit to make later, and used the entire batter recipe, since my husband likes his a little cake-y. Other than that, it was simple to make, and even better to eat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
Yummy! Very crunchy and chewy and dense and sticky, just like a good fruitcake. Beautiful sliced, like stained glass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
I loved this cake! All those nuts is what made this sooo good, but it did take a long time to chop them all up by hand, and a long time to bake. I added some spices to mine. My grand kids didn't think much of it, but what do they know??It is a great holiday cake, and keeps forever in the ice box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States