Texas BBQ Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I absolutly adore this recipe. It is a GREAT go to meal. I always have the ingredients on hand. I have a 2 1/2 month old daughter and I am always trying to find something that can be cooked between feedings and/or during naps this is so easy to make and so tasty that I make it a lot. I have discoverd that if you put is in the crock pot for double the oven time it is so much nicer to shred and so tender too. Just put it in on high for 90 min then shred and put back for 30 min it takes longer but is so much better. My husband eats it just on the plate but I prefer to have it on a hoagie with sweet onion and cheddar cheese. I also make a "Texas BBQ Chicken Quesedilla" with it buy putting a tortilla down and putting mexican cheese mix that is already shredded, it's by Kraft, on half of the tortilla then chicken fallowed by onion top it off with more cheese and fold the tortilla over nuke it in the microwave until cheese is melted and VIOLA. I serve with either mashed potatos or french fries and baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon VanSickle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Very tasty. I didn't measure the ingredient, except for the juice so I may have been off on some things. I used a carrot/greens vegetable juice blend instead of a tomato based juice. My sauce thickend up nicely. I marinated this over night and then after cooking put it in the fridge for the next day's dinner. I served this over brown rice. I do think next time I make this, I'll add in some vegatbles to make this a complete one dish meal.. mushrooms, zucchini.. etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
We weren't impressed with the BBQ sauce - both the favor and how thin the sauce was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
Eh. I'm not sure what I was expecting...but this was shredded chicken in a very thin bbq sauce. Not horrible--just not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
The sauce was delicious and certainly easy to prepare. However, the chicken (skinless, boneless breasts) was so dry--thus the 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Doesn't meat my description of BBQ flavor but it was very good. I served it with Coleslaw and Kaiser Rolls and we had North Carolina BBQ. It was yummy with some pre-made sauce as a condiment. Very easy to make and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hingham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This was a very nice recipe. I marinated the chicken overnight, and I did have to cook the chicken for an hour, even after cutting the chicken into smaller pieces than the recipe specified. I noticed that the sauce tasted a bit too much like its main ingredient--vegetable juice--so maybe I'll reduce that item next time in the recipe. I served this with "Angie's Dad's Coleslaw" (which is the best!) and Yellow or Summer Squash Casserole (very good), both from this site. I'll make this meal again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
My husband and I thought this recipe was alright. My 3 year old ate really well because the chicken was shredded, so that was a plus. We left out the cayenne pepper because we didn't have it, but I think it would have only changed the spice factor. I would possibely make this again as a fill in dinner or just for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
We didn't care for this recipe at all ... Not sure what the "problem" was, but we won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
This was really yummy! I only gave it four stars, though, because I would have liked the sauce to be a little bit thicker. The second time I made it, I used apple cider vinegar instead of white wine. I liked it better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven BBQ Chicken Drumsticks

Baked chicken with homemade BBQ sauce.

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Ashley & Whitney's Tip for BBQ Chicken Wings

See an easy way to make sweet-and-spicy BBQ chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States