Texas BBQ Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
The ingredients in this recipe made the sauce very tasty but it was too runny. My family didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Super easy and delicious! My fiance' thinks I'm a genius! I tweaked it a little with using Sweet Baby Rays and it turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEiermann2012

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gonzales, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was good, I modified it a little because I didn't have tomato-vegetable juice, so I used bbq sauce. I didn't get the caramelization probably because I didn't put in the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I make this in the crock pot and then shred it and put it on hoagies with cheese and sliced onion. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I wished I had read the reviews first and made alterations. The sauce is indeed to watery, so omit the water, but the color was also not appealing...tasted fabulous though! I was looking for a darker color. Mixed with white rice, it looks a little bland. Three stars on presentation, four starts on taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zenminded1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This sauce was way too thin. Gave the chicken a bloody/raw look. Pretty gross. I followed the recipe exactly except omitted the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Yum!! My husband and I used this recipe to make BBQ chicken sandwiches. Really, all you needed was some buns because the chicken and sauce were incredible! We added a bit of Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce in the last couple minutes of cooking as another reviewer suggested - yum oh! With the left overs we made homemade BBQ chicken pizza. We used the sauce as a sub for marinara, added some red onion and mexican mix shredded cheese and the result was delish! Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I thought this recipe would be amazing but I didn't enjoy it at all. It didn't taste anything like barbecue, the sauce/mix was runny (even after cooking) and overall I was really disappointed. And, for those wanting to try this (which I personally wouldn't recommend), I would double the cooking time. The chicken was nowhere near done for me. It was worth a try, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Great marinade for chicken! I used 4 split chicken breasts for this and made the marinade a little thicker. I doubled the brown sugar and the worcestershire and omitted the water. I used white wine vinegar instead of distilled because it's milder and only 1/2 cup of V8. Whenever I see ketchup in a marinade I always substitute chili sauce as a rule of thumb because it provides that little extra kick. I let the chicken marinate overnight and finished it on the grill. You can even baste it with a bit of your favorite BBQ sauce towards the end if you want it extra special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This was such an easy recipe to make. we have 6 kids and they are picky lil eaters and everyone of them came back for seconds. It was VERY TASTY! I recomend trying this! I made it with fruit salsa, cinnamon chips, and pilaf rice, a nice combo and light on the stomach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

BBQ Chicken Pizza

See how quick and easy it is to make a delicious BBQ chicken pizza.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States