Texas BBQ Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Great marinade for chicken! I used 4 split chicken breasts for this and made the marinade a little thicker. I doubled the brown sugar and the worcestershire and omitted the water. I used white wine vinegar instead of distilled because it's milder and only 1/2 cup of V8. Whenever I see ketchup in a marinade I always substitute chili sauce as a rule of thumb because it provides that little extra kick. I let the chicken marinate overnight and finished it on the grill. You can even baste it with a bit of your favorite BBQ sauce towards the end if you want it extra special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2002
Very good dish.. easy to make and the kids loved it.. also great in the crock pot on high for 5 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
This was really yummy! I only gave it four stars, though, because I would have liked the sauce to be a little bit thicker. The second time I made it, I used apple cider vinegar instead of white wine. I liked it better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
This was so yummy!!! I also marinated the chicken for about an hour then popped it in the oven when my husband got home from work. The house smelled wonderful while it was baking. I served it over pasta with some cheese bread and it was fantastic. Even my three year old loved it. I didn't find it overly spicy but it did have a very nice Texas tang to it. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I absolutly adore this recipe. It is a GREAT go to meal. I always have the ingredients on hand. I have a 2 1/2 month old daughter and I am always trying to find something that can be cooked between feedings and/or during naps this is so easy to make and so tasty that I make it a lot. I have discoverd that if you put is in the crock pot for double the oven time it is so much nicer to shred and so tender too. Just put it in on high for 90 min then shred and put back for 30 min it takes longer but is so much better. My husband eats it just on the plate but I prefer to have it on a hoagie with sweet onion and cheddar cheese. I also make a "Texas BBQ Chicken Quesedilla" with it buy putting a tortilla down and putting mexican cheese mix that is already shredded, it's by Kraft, on half of the tortilla then chicken fallowed by onion top it off with more cheese and fold the tortilla over nuke it in the microwave until cheese is melted and VIOLA. I serve with either mashed potatos or french fries and baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon VanSickle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
This was pretty good. The sauce had a tangy flavor. I left the chicken breasts whole and spooned more sauce over them before serving. Next time I'll try marinating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I really liked this recipe. Super easy!!! It smelled wonderful as it cooked. We did increase the cooking time to almost one hour before shredding the chicken. We are Weight Watchers and this is a great, tasty low-point entree.We served it over toasted 1 point bread instead of rice. It was even better the next day! I plan to try it in the crockpot next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
It smells great, but lacks the spicy zip that you would expect from the aroma. Good if you like mild, tame if you like spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Loved it! Make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, California, USA
Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
Very good recipe. I spiced it up a bit with some red pepper flakes and added some bottled BBQ sauce (just have to cook it down more but it gets nice and thick). I also substituted Tony Chachere's Cajun Seasoning for the salt. I served it over brown rice with some steamed veggies on the side and my boyfriend loved it! He even said how good the chicken and rice would be on a flour tortilla with some cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

BBQ Chicken Pizza

See how quick and easy it is to make a delicious BBQ chicken pizza.

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States