Texas BBQ Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
I was expecting a little bit more of a BBQ flavor, but found this one has a pretty strong cayenne pepper taste! I'm not big on spicy, so I wasn't too pleased with that fact, but overall was a good meal, very easy and quick (I prepared mine in the afternoon, refrigerated to let the meat marinate and then popped it in the oven before dinner time) and went over well with my family. (And it really did SMELL great while it was cooking!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2002
It smells great, but lacks the spicy zip that you would expect from the aroma. Good if you like mild, tame if you like spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
This was so yummy!!! I also marinated the chicken for about an hour then popped it in the oven when my husband got home from work. The house smelled wonderful while it was baking. I served it over pasta with some cheese bread and it was fantastic. Even my three year old loved it. I didn't find it overly spicy but it did have a very nice Texas tang to it. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2002
Very good dish.. easy to make and the kids loved it.. also great in the crock pot on high for 5 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
Tasty and easy to make. I served the chicken and sauce over steamed white rice. Next time, I would definitely let the chicken marinate in the sauce overnight for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
Really easy to make and very tangy. My 2 year old even had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
This recipe was excellent. It tasted wonderful, and smelled wonderful. I just made two alterations: Apple Cider Vineger instead of White Vineger and Splenda instead of Brown Sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shony Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
This was pretty good. The sauce had a tangy flavor. I left the chicken breasts whole and spooned more sauce over them before serving. Next time I'll try marinating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
Very good recipe. I spiced it up a bit with some red pepper flakes and added some bottled BBQ sauce (just have to cook it down more but it gets nice and thick). I also substituted Tony Chachere's Cajun Seasoning for the salt. I served it over brown rice with some steamed veggies on the side and my boyfriend loved it! He even said how good the chicken and rice would be on a flour tortilla with some cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
Not my favorite...a little bland. Marinating for several hours or more seems to be a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Ashley & Whitney's Tip for BBQ Chicken Wings

See an easy way to make sweet-and-spicy BBQ chicken wings.

BBQ Chicken Pizza

See how quick and easy it is to make a delicious BBQ chicken pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States