Texas BBQ Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Having visited GA, NC &TN last year on holiday from the UK I fell in love with some of the wonderful BBQ sauces available. I had hoped this would remind me of them. Unfortunately either my memory is faulty or my taste buds have changed. This was easy to make but did not have the same depth of flavour as either sweet baby rays or carolina sweet. Perhaps Texas bbq is very different from others. On the plus side it is quick and easy to make and friends did love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Loved it! Make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, California, USA
Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
First time I made it, it was a little too runny and didn't taste enough like southern BBQ for me. (I like more of a mesquite or hickory flavor) I liked the idea though so I made again using bottled BBQ sauce (suggestion of another member)and served on large rolls. Makes a great sandwich filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
The sauce was too runny and the ketchup didn't mix well. I didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
After reading the list of ingrediants I thought this was going to be really hot. Me and my husband both like this, but I don't know if I really like the taste that the vegetable juice cocktail gives it. It all taste good on JUST the chicken but not on anything else, like rice, etc....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
very good!! with just the right amount of kick to it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
It was just ok for me. My sauce was too runny and very bland. I tried to add flavor by adding onions, green peppers & more pepper sauce. It does seem better if you let it set overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
We really liked this recipe! Lots of flavour, nutritious & low-fat!! I served the chicken over rice. Then, we used the leftovers in tortilla wraps with cheese & salsa. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
For flavor, I give this 3 stars - the sauce was thin, the flavor was ok, but not outstanding. For ease, I give this 5 stars - simple to put together, pop in the oven and forget about it. Thus, 4 stars overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by accidental cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I absolutly adore this recipe. It is a GREAT go to meal. I always have the ingredients on hand. I have a 2 1/2 month old daughter and I am always trying to find something that can be cooked between feedings and/or during naps this is so easy to make and so tasty that I make it a lot. I have discoverd that if you put is in the crock pot for double the oven time it is so much nicer to shred and so tender too. Just put it in on high for 90 min then shred and put back for 30 min it takes longer but is so much better. My husband eats it just on the plate but I prefer to have it on a hoagie with sweet onion and cheddar cheese. I also make a "Texas BBQ Chicken Quesedilla" with it buy putting a tortilla down and putting mexican cheese mix that is already shredded, it's by Kraft, on half of the tortilla then chicken fallowed by onion top it off with more cheese and fold the tortilla over nuke it in the microwave until cheese is melted and VIOLA. I serve with either mashed potatos or french fries and baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon VanSickle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

BBQ Chicken Pizza

See how quick and easy it is to make a delicious BBQ chicken pizza.

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States