Texas BBQ Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This was pretty good. I left out the cayenne pepper because of my toddler, but the taste was still good. A bit watery as other reviewed noted, but I added about 3/4 cup of cut up mushrooms and 1/2 red bell pepper strips which helped. I marinated the chicken and veggies in the sauce for 8 hours beforehand. I made it with chicken thighs and cooked it at 350 for 45 minutes. It turned out extremely tender. I will note that we didn't really care for the sauce on the rice we served it with, but the sauce on the chicken and veggies was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I don't know what kind of puny chickens the author is used to cooking, but when I cooked my split chicken breasts by these directions (35 min. @ 350°) the chicken was nowhere near done. I cooked it an additional 30 minutes @ 350° because that's what another recipe said it needed. Turns out that was exactly what it needed. Also, I didn't use this recipe for the sauce. Instead I used store bought (KC Masterpiece) which my family loves. Adjusting the cooking time (by doubling it) made this recipe work well enough, so I give it three out of five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrh143

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wingate, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Yum! Everyone at our house liked this. We were in a rush the first night so we ate them as chicken breasts. The second night we ate the leftover chicken shredded over rice. Even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Sauce is easy to make and has a nice flavor. I would have liked the sauce to be thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca L. Rinehart Estes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Herington, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I liked it, kids & husband loved it. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I must say I was very happy with this recipe. Thank you so much for sharing. The flavor wasn't spice at all! I love spicy thing but my parents and brother do not. They loved it!!! I did everything the same except that I did not have any tomato juice. It was actually perfect. I know there were a few people that said it was really think! It work for me! I also used Cider Vinegar and a few drops of liquid smoke! I mixed it up and coated the chicken in it, then poured the rest of the sauce over it and let it sit about 2 hours. Baked it till was done, took the chix out let it rest. Strained the sauce to get most of the fat out. Then pulled the chicken from the bone and made a Chix BBQ sandwiches! Yah SOOOO GOOD. Thank you so much! It's an excellent sauce for Chicken Tenders!!! :) I would give this a higher rating if I could
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOLDENPHOENIX82

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Naples, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Im new to the cooking field and this was my first dish and it came out real good the chicken had a sweet but string taste i recommend to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Used this recipe to make BBQ chicken sandwiches. Quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Not very good at all. Lacking in flavour and spunk. Easy to make but I wouldn't bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This was way too runny for me. And it had very little flavor. I will stick with the bottled sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Ashley & Whitney's Tip for BBQ Chicken Wings

See an easy way to make sweet-and-spicy BBQ chicken wings.

BBQ Chicken Pizza

See how quick and easy it is to make a delicious BBQ chicken pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States