Tex-Mex Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This soup is amazing and I make it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
My aunt sent me this recipe after we hosted Thanksgiving and had tons of turkey left over. I made a change to it the first time, but it was one of the best soups I've ever tasted. The change I made was to use salsa verde (the green salsa) instead of regular salsa, since we didn't have any on hand. The rest of the ingredients were already in our kitchen. The second time around, I used regular mild salsa, a large can of crushed tomatoes, and instead of chicken flavoring used a beef soup base dissolved in water, where I had used the chicken soup base before. It was a different flavor, but still very good. I also used browned ground turkey the second time, since the leftovers were long gone. It was great! You can probably use chicken or browned ground beef as well. I'm going to also try it with pork loin if I have leftovers. On the side this time, I melted a little cheddar cheese on top of a plate of tortila chips and sprinkle that with cumin and chili powder. We used those to dip into the soup. It was so good as something to add a little crunch. This recipe is staying in my recipe box and also getting printed out so I always have it. You can used kidney beans in it as well. I guess I made more changes than I thought! The cilantro I used was dried, so I just sprinkled it in without measuring. The important thing is that it's so versatile that as long as you stick with the basic seasonings and water proportions, you can't go wrong no matter what you add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I used chicken stock instead of the water w/bullion and I used diced fire-roasted tomatoes for some kick and it was perfect. I am considering making a batch for my work and my husband's. Will definitely do this again next year - and, if I can't wait, I will use a pre-roasted chicken from my local grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
this was my first time making a turkey soup,i made it for the guys at the fire station right after thanksgiving.they loved it.i made a little changes i put carrots and celery in the soup and i boiled the turkey bones for the bouillon. i fried the tortilla and sprinkle chill powder and salt on them. great recipe and i loved it and was a easy recipe to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Way YUM! Just the right amount of spice for some flavor but my kids to still like it. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Delicious! Everyone in my family ate it (as is) including my two picky boys (age 4 and 7).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Delicious. We used turkey stock instead of bouillon/water but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This was the best turkey soup I have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I loved this recipe because it's just to easy. I had everything on hand except for black beans which I substituted with kidney beans. I did add more turkey just because I wanted to get ride of the left overs from Thanksgiving. Although I wish I didn't because it made it a little to thick for my liking and I'm not a huge fan of turkey to begin with. I also added extra garlic chili powder and cumin then called for. I actually didn't measure anything, just eyed it up. Turned out great! I didn't top it with anything and it was very tasty. Thank you for this recipe, a new way to get rid of Thanksgiving leftovers. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iron Mountain, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I made this soup for dinner last night - followed some recommendations and left out the tomato soup. Added a squeeze of lime to each serving. It was a great soup - I'm sure I'll make it again. Everyone liked it last night and it was even better today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States