Tex-Mex Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Delicious soup and great way to use up Thanksgiving turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Meh. This was so bland. I ended up throwing the whole batch out. My family didn't care for it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very good, a great way to use up leftover turkey, though this recipe would be good with chicken too. Giving this soup a Tex-Mex spin was brilliant, quite an improvement from another turkey sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I actually found this recipe not initially on this site, but published in my local newspaper the other day (they did, of course, mention that the source was allrecipes.com). I'm sure it is quite delicious as written, but I made a few changes due to the ingredients I had on hand and to use up another. I did not use condensed tomato soup, but rather tomatoe juice as I did not have the soup on hand. I also used dried rather than fresh cilantro. I threw in about 1 1/2 c. of leftover cooked rice. I found the soup needed a bit more seasoning so I increased the chili powder, oregano and cumin by one half. Served with the same toppings as listed, but again, with the dried cilantro. Very good, hearty soup and a great way to use up that leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was very good. I made it exactly as printed. My family likes a little more heat, but that's an easy enough fix while tasting. Will def make again with a few tweaks to adjust to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I had made my own stock from the leftover turkey bones. That was really the only thing I changed. This had some really good flavor. I'm only giving it 4 stars because of the water/chicken bouillan combo...I've used it before and I prefer a homemade stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Sooooo yummy! I substitute chicken stock for the water and bouillon cubes, and use 1 can Rotel in lieu of salsa... Delicious recipe, perfect for leftover turkey at Thanksgiving or anytime. I love to make it year-round, but whole turkeys can be hard to find/expensive apart from the holidays... I have used turkey breast or filets during the off-season, but it's best using meat from a whole turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Hudnall Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Excellent as is! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Since finding this recipe years ago, I have made it dozens of times. This is always a hit! I have made it for crowds of more than 100, made it for my family, canned it, frozen it, etc. The depth of flavor is incredible and will fool your diner into believing it took you all day to develop the its layers. You will have others asking for the recipe and begging for your secret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Really great soup. Used a whole onion, added okra and a jalepeno (seeds too). Did not have chile powder, used cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States