Tex-Mex Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
OMG! This soup is so good! I used turkey stock instead of water, but kept everything else the same. Great way to use up that leftover Thanksgiving turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Amazing! You could very easily substitute shredded chicken. I used about half of the turkey it calls for. I seasoned to taste with garlic salt, salt, and onion powder. The fresh green onions and cilantro send it out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This soup is such a great switch up from the usual post Thanksgiving fare! Of course, I didn't use bouillon, but instead boiled the turkey carcass with onion and celery and used the stock from that. And there was enough left over in a 12 pound turkey that I had to double the recipe. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Salsa? In soup? Yes! Yes! A thousand times yes! At first glance, I doubted the idea and was averse to the very thought, but, becoming possessed of a strange inclination to ruin the soup and then grant it a single, measly star, I laughed in glee as I poured not one-half, but a whole cup of salsa into the steaming pot. And yet, as I stirred the concoction, a delicious smell filled my nostrils. "What a queer circumstance," I told myself. "It is but a deception." All the same, I had to taste it for myself. And as I held the spoon up to my lips - oh, drat. I just ran out of characters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
i wanted to love this recipe, but it's just so so. i like all the ingredients but found myself adding more cheese and sour cream to give it 'something'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
excellent--fry your own chips---
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GNFSHN4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Polo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is a PERFECT way to use up your leftover turkey! I will be making this year round substituting the turkey with chicken. Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Our new favorite recipe of left over turkey. Only change was I used turkey broth which I made with the carcass instead of water. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Made a few substitutions. Doubled the onion, since I had a medium onion. Added 1 more clove garlic, and doubled the cumin and oregano. Instead of regular diced tomatoes, used fire roasted with green chiles. Used no salt added canned corn I had on hand. And finally, left out the sour cream and added a good glug of bottled lime juice instead. Served with shredded sharp Cheddar cheese and minced pickled jalapeños.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
LOVE this soup. One of my favorite meals. Makes me excited every year after Thanksgiving that I have so much leftover turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States