Tex-Mex Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
A definite keeper. Only change we made was chicken broth instead of bullion cubes. Also, we just added the cilantro at the table instead of during cooking. Not too spicy, but that can be adjusted to personal taste. Definitely a pleasant change from traditional turkey soup. We're usually so sick of turkey leftovers, that this soup at least felt like quite a change up from the typical turkey dinner flavours. Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Super yummy and easy. I made this after Christmas with leftover turkey. I had just about all the ingr. In my pantry. I didn't have any sour cream on hand and didn't miss it. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMK1K2K3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I always buy a very large turkey now so that I can make sure I have enough leftover for this soup. I don't use the salsa; I use Rotel instead. It adds however much spice you want depending on if you use mild, medium or hot. I also don't bother with the sour cream. I suppose it adds a little extra special something, but I don't need the calories. I think this is so good. It is basically a turkey tortilla soup. My husband and kids are not soup fans, but they LOVE this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This is a DELICIOUS recipe! I kept to the recipe pretty much to the tee except I didn't have black beans so I used fava beans. So good! I also added a garnish - sliced avocado. Definitely a great and easy way to use leftover turkey! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This was SOOOOO GOOD!!!! Had leftover turkey from a turkey breast we had on Thanksgiving. Im so glad my leftovers went towards something so yummy!! All I had for toppings was shredded cheese and sour cream, and it was still amazing. Also decided to freeze some that we couldnt fiinsh off. Cant wait to have again! Oh yeah, and my 2 year old LOVED it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florissant, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
this was good. It kinda tasted like my moms chicken tortilla soup, so the flavor wasnt all that new to me, but still very delicious. worth trying! thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missnewcook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
this soup was awesome! used chicken broth instead of the water/boullion combo. The leftovers have been even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
A great dish after thanksgiving! Will make again on a cold leftover day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
my new favorite way to eat turkey leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States