Tex-Mex Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Excellent soup; great way to use up leftover turkey. Would be tasty with chicken as well. I did not have cilantro or parsley on hand, and it was still yummy. We substituted fresh tomatoes for canned. Delicious; I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Looking for something a little different than typical Turkey Frame Soup with leftover Thanksgiving turkey. I had to half it for the three of us, but now wish I had not. Really good. Since we all love beans of all kinds, I used a full can of black beans and didn't have any cilantro, so I skipped that and used close to a 1/2 cup of sour cream (because we love it) and it turned out absolutely perfect. Ended up serving with homemade nachos. There is not a drop left! We will certainly do this again and again. Since we don't have turkey all that often, next time will likely be chicken. Just excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lost Southern Boy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made this with a few of my own changes (omitted the condensed soup, used a mexican seasoning blend instead of chili powder and added freshly roasted chili peppers). The recipe used as a base was VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Delicious soup and great way to use up Thanksgiving turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Meh. This was so bland. I ended up throwing the whole batch out. My family didn't care for it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very good, a great way to use up leftover turkey, though this recipe would be good with chicken too. Giving this soup a Tex-Mex spin was brilliant, quite an improvement from another turkey sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I actually found this recipe not initially on this site, but published in my local newspaper the other day (they did, of course, mention that the source was allrecipes.com). I'm sure it is quite delicious as written, but I made a few changes due to the ingredients I had on hand and to use up another. I did not use condensed tomato soup, but rather tomatoe juice as I did not have the soup on hand. I also used dried rather than fresh cilantro. I threw in about 1 1/2 c. of leftover cooked rice. I found the soup needed a bit more seasoning so I increased the chili powder, oregano and cumin by one half. Served with the same toppings as listed, but again, with the dried cilantro. Very good, hearty soup and a great way to use up that leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was very good. I made it exactly as printed. My family likes a little more heat, but that's an easy enough fix while tasting. Will def make again with a few tweaks to adjust to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I had made my own stock from the leftover turkey bones. That was really the only thing I changed. This had some really good flavor. I'm only giving it 4 stars because of the water/chicken bouillan combo...I've used it before and I prefer a homemade stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Sooooo yummy! I substitute chicken stock for the water and bouillon cubes, and use 1 can Rotel in lieu of salsa... Delicious recipe, perfect for leftover turkey at Thanksgiving or anytime. I love to make it year-round, but whole turkeys can be hard to find/expensive apart from the holidays... I have used turkey breast or filets during the off-season, but it's best using meat from a whole turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Hudnall Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States