Tex-Mex Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
I was soooo leary about this recipe and I was more than thrilled with the results!! I thought that these were a great way to prepare a taco! I have made them at least three times in one week, because I find myself craving them. I tried them with canned chicken and that just wasn't as good as the tuna. Great mix of flavors, I have also subbed black beans for the olives with great results. I did sub green leaf lettuce for the iceburg, and used ortega boxed corn shells but other than that gung ho! Thanks John, so very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
I WAS SCARED TO TRY THIS RECIPE, BUT I WAS SURPRISED WITH THE OUTCOME. VERY YUMMY. I ADDED SOME SPANISH RICE TO THE TUNA MIXTURE. I WILL MAKE THIS ONE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
I work at a hospital and we made this salad to sell in the cafe' and wow people really loved it! We did the tuna mix is a cold salad served on chips (more like a tuna taco salad). This salad has great flavor! We have added it our menue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Different from usual tuna salad sndwich. I added some green chilles I had on hand. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I thought this was a great recipe that was pretty filling. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy
Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This is pretty good - I'm having it on tortilla chips right now. It needed a bit of tweaking: 1/2 tsp salt and pepper each, and I added another 1/4 cup of sour cream to make it a little more spreadable. I used fat free sour cream for a healthier version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PARABIANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyd, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
While I was preparing this I had pretty much already determined that it was going to be inedible... the salsa/sour cream/tuna mixture looked so odd and unappetizing. However, the cumin totally brought all the flavors together and a dollop of sour cream on top was a yummy addition. This was a great, quick lunch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This was really tasty! I threw it together very quickly, approximating amounts, and it came out great. Wasn't sure what was meant exactly by "salsa" (broad term) so I used a hot taco sauce which added a nice zing to the flavour. Also tossed in some corn kernels I had on hand. The left over is great sandwich filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
what a great recipe had my family try it nothing but rave reviews would make again. thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
A great variation on the usual Tuna Salad. To give it a little more "elegance" and less runny-ness, be sure you use well drained solid Albacore, and salsa that you make yourself. If you use some normal commercial salsa, you can expect the results to be watery & sloppy. If you make a nice chunky salsa, you can use this over bread slices or on crackers. I would also heartily recommend this warm over pasta, or in a cold pasta salad mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfpOne23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States