Tex-Mex Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
I was soooo leary about this recipe and I was more than thrilled with the results!! I thought that these were a great way to prepare a taco! I have made them at least three times in one week, because I find myself craving them. I tried them with canned chicken and that just wasn't as good as the tuna. Great mix of flavors, I have also subbed black beans for the olives with great results. I did sub green leaf lettuce for the iceburg, and used ortega boxed corn shells but other than that gung ho! Thanks John, so very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
I WAS SCARED TO TRY THIS RECIPE, BUT I WAS SURPRISED WITH THE OUTCOME. VERY YUMMY. I ADDED SOME SPANISH RICE TO THE TUNA MIXTURE. I WILL MAKE THIS ONE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
I work at a hospital and we made this salad to sell in the cafe' and wow people really loved it! We did the tuna mix is a cold salad served on chips (more like a tuna taco salad). This salad has great flavor! We have added it our menue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Different from usual tuna salad sndwich. I added some green chilles I had on hand. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I thought this was a great recipe that was pretty filling. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy
Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This was really tasty! I threw it together very quickly, approximating amounts, and it came out great. Wasn't sure what was meant exactly by "salsa" (broad term) so I used a hot taco sauce which added a nice zing to the flavour. Also tossed in some corn kernels I had on hand. The left over is great sandwich filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
what a great recipe had my family try it nothing but rave reviews would make again. thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This is pretty good - I'm having it on tortilla chips right now. It needed a bit of tweaking: 1/2 tsp salt and pepper each, and I added another 1/4 cup of sour cream to make it a little more spreadable. I used fat free sour cream for a healthier version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PARABIANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyd, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
While I was preparing this I had pretty much already determined that it was going to be inedible... the salsa/sour cream/tuna mixture looked so odd and unappetizing. However, the cumin totally brought all the flavors together and a dollop of sour cream on top was a yummy addition. This was a great, quick lunch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
A great variation on the usual Tuna Salad. To give it a little more "elegance" and less runny-ness, be sure you use well drained solid Albacore, and salsa that you make yourself. If you use some normal commercial salsa, you can expect the results to be watery & sloppy. If you make a nice chunky salsa, you can use this over bread slices or on crackers. I would also heartily recommend this warm over pasta, or in a cold pasta salad mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfpOne23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States