Tex-Mex Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Excellent. Just enough zing to compliment the blue gills we had as the main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kendall, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I'm hopeless when it comes to making homemade rice, but this was a huge success! I think the process of making it in a skillet and cooking the rice in oil helps. My only complaint was a I found the rice to be a tad bit salty. Not a big deal since that can always be adjusted. Thanks Kat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Fixed in my rice cooker. Cooked chopped onion in Butter Buds until tender. Added brown rice, chicken broth and Rotel tomatoes with green chilies. Omitted the chili powder and green pepper. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I like spicy, so I added a jalapeno pepper and rotel spicy tomatoes. I didn't like the chili powder taste though. I might use less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Very good. I did add more spices to it as it needed some more flavor. My hubby really liked this rice. I will not buy flavored box rice again, I will just make my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was a simple recipe to follow and it tasted great. I added some corn and about 1 tablespoon of lemon juice for additional flavor. My husband and cousin loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Very tasty and easy side dish. I substituted the green pepper and onion for a small can of diced green chilies and it was just perfect. Hubby said it was the best Mexi rice he'd ever tasted. I'd say that's a win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is an awesome recipe. I made it into a main dish by adding ground beef, and a can of corn. For the canned tomatoes, I used spicy mexican tomatoes that have the chilies, and I use half the chili powder, and half caldo de tomate, and an 8oz can of tomato sauce....My kids love this. I serve it with corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dolores Hastings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Very good Mexican style rice. I also used 1/2 seeded minced jalapeno and some garlic powder. I also subbed one cup chicken broth for 1 cup water. I like to use the diced tomatoes with green chilies for even more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States