Tex-Mex Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Mmmmm good! Didn't have the avocados or cheese, but loved it anyway. Would like a hundred more recipes this delicous and healthy. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by incurable

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Delicious! More than 5 stars in my book. I also added 1 seeded and diced jalepeno for a little extra heat. Loved the freshness of the lime juice and cilantro which I think is key in this dish. The creaminess of the avacado also adds another level. Will be making this often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This salad is so tasty and refreshing! I don't usually like cold salads but this was terrific. I replaced cotija with queso fresco and held the cilantro. It will stay good in the fridge for 1 day only so don't make too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Outstanding! I forgot to buy cotija cheese, so I compensated by simply salting the salad to my taste. I also added some minced garlic - nothing beats the mixture of cilantro, lime and garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I made this according to directions..with one substitution..I could not find the cotija cheese so I used panella which is a crumbly farmers cheese. I also served this cold with butter lettuce in the form of a lettuce wrap..my vegetarian dinner guest devoured it and asked for the recipe. Another winner thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I've made this twice and can eat the whole bowl all by myself. It's really fresh tasting even though it uses 2 canned items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris p.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
So good - I did change up a bit to my taste. Used 2 fresh tomatoes, black beans and about 4 green onions. I just squirted the juice of 2 limes in and also added 2 cloves of minced garlic. I didnt add any cheese. This was just delicious and I bet its delicious as is - I just cant help myself and end up changing things around a bit ;-) ETA: I cooked the quinoa in veggie broth and added serrano and jalapeno pepper and some frozen sweet corn (just toss in the bowl frozen) - soooo good! Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
LOVE this! I used black beans instead of garbanzo and didn't hold back with the cheese . . . used the whole package! I was short on quinoa so used 1/2 quinoa and 1/2 couscous and it was still great. Will make it regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Outstanding! My substitutions: panela cheese, 1 avocado, fresh tomatoes, canned roasted chiles, black beans, and some fresh yellow bell pepper. Was great with chips & salsa, and in a salad with baby greens and a creamy lime-cilantro dressing I concocted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
WOW! Everyone I served this too LOVED it and loved how different it was for quinoa with the rotel. My mother who I have been trying to convert to using quinoa is now on the bandwagon after trying this. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States