Tex-Mex Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
So good - I did change up a bit to my taste. Used 2 fresh tomatoes, black beans and about 4 green onions. I just squirted the juice of 2 limes in and also added 2 cloves of minced garlic. I didnt add any cheese. This was just delicious and I bet its delicious as is - I just cant help myself and end up changing things around a bit ;-) ETA: I cooked the quinoa in veggie broth and added serrano and jalapeno pepper and some frozen sweet corn (just toss in the bowl frozen) - soooo good! Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was my first venture with Quinoa, and it was delicious! I added a chicken boullion to flavor the Quinoa itself, and since other readers complained it was mushy, I cooked it only the 20 minutes til it was al dente. The texture was perfect and seemed to be just as good the next day. I was out of garbanzo beans, so I had to pass on that. I only had stems of cilantro left from dinner last night, so I chopped those fine, didn't have the cheese, added avocado, garlic, onion and fresh tomatoes. It is really good! I would recommend people who are shy about trying Quinoa to use this recipe! And... it's good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I made this for a work picnic and it had turned to absolute mush by the time we all enjoyed it. This is NOT something that keeps well in the fridge. I'm a good cook, so it was incredibly embarrassing. One person said it tasted like mushy oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janjelly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe. I add a few cloves of garlic and 1 chopped jalapeno. I substituted black beans for the garbanzo beans and cheddar cheese for cotija, as I was unable to locate this cheese. I also use 2 fresh tomatoes in place of canned dices tomatoes. Adding some spice, such as chili powder and cumin and maybe some cayenne pepper make this a wonderful dish. Also, I recommend eating this hot as a full meal for 4. It is great in this fashion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norm vandyke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Mmmmm good! Didn't have the avocados or cheese, but loved it anyway. Would like a hundred more recipes this delicous and healthy. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by incurable

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I made this according to directions..with one substitution..I could not find the cotija cheese so I used panella which is a crumbly farmers cheese. I also served this cold with butter lettuce in the form of a lettuce wrap..my vegetarian dinner guest devoured it and asked for the recipe. Another winner thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Delicious! More than 5 stars in my book. I also added 1 seeded and diced jalepeno for a little extra heat. Loved the freshness of the lime juice and cilantro which I think is key in this dish. The creaminess of the avacado also adds another level. Will be making this often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This is so delicious, once added feta instead of cotija cheese, once substituted parmesan. Have made with or without chickpeas. Made as a sidedish and main entree. It is just that delicious and filling!! My whole family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I've made this twice and can eat the whole bowl all by myself. It's really fresh tasting even though it uses 2 canned items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris p.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This salad is so tasty and refreshing! I don't usually like cold salads but this was terrific. I replaced cotija with queso fresco and held the cilantro. It will stay good in the fridge for 1 day only so don't make too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States