Tex-Mex Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
We really enjoyed this salad! We cut it in 1/2, and used greek feta. Also, b/c we are in Canada, had to improvise with tomatoes...so, for 1/2 recipe - we did 2 romas and a 1/2 of a 114ml tin of diced green chilis. Did the trick, will def. make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Loved the flavor! Even my husband who sometimes doesn't care for quinoa liked it. I used bottled lime juic and substituted shredded mexican for the cotija. Honestly it didn't even need cheese. I also didn't wait for the quinoa to cook and just added the other ingredients to it once it was done! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
So good! And easy to make :) We thought it tasted like a super-healthy version of a Chipotle burrito. I cooked the quinoa with a scoop of chicken stock instead of salt, used black beans instead of garbanzo, and substituted mozzarella cheese for the cotija.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I, too, added a few little things. After reading some reviews, I added onion flakes and garlic powder. I also added goya brand cilatro and tomato flavoring powder. I couldn't wait to taste it! It's delicious and I haven't even let it cool to taste it with the cilantro! So great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This was super yummy. I added the garlic like one reader had suggeted and the quinoa really took on the flavor, next time I might use a little less. I did use the fresh tomato and avacado and served in lettuce wraps. Again super yummy, thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgattis
Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I made this according to recipe with a few slight changes....cooked quinoa in beef broth, used black beans, and left out the cheese. I enjoyed this both warm and cold but have to say I preferred it warm. Will make again with some more changes according to my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
10-4-11: This was not nearly as good as it sounded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I left out tomatoes entirely, but if I did use would definitely use fresh. Also cook the quinoa in some type of broth, just adds that extra bit of flavour. I left out the cilantro and added fresh spinach and some cucumbers. Fresh garlic a must. Love this salad with these few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I ate mine as a hot dish. I really enjoyed it, easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liseli Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States