Tex-Mex Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I just added what I had on hand (black beans) plus garlic, onion (no cotija handy) and followed the rest and it was DELISH! I also dashed a little cayenne in for heat, YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aquanymph66

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
We really enjoyed this salad! We cut it in 1/2, and used greek feta. Also, b/c we are in Canada, had to improvise with tomatoes...so, for 1/2 recipe - we did 2 romas and a 1/2 of a 114ml tin of diced green chilis. Did the trick, will def. make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Loved the flavor! Even my husband who sometimes doesn't care for quinoa liked it. I used bottled lime juic and substituted shredded mexican for the cotija. Honestly it didn't even need cheese. I also didn't wait for the quinoa to cook and just added the other ingredients to it once it was done! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
So good! And easy to make :) We thought it tasted like a super-healthy version of a Chipotle burrito. I cooked the quinoa with a scoop of chicken stock instead of salt, used black beans instead of garbanzo, and substituted mozzarella cheese for the cotija.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I, too, added a few little things. After reading some reviews, I added onion flakes and garlic powder. I also added goya brand cilatro and tomato flavoring powder. I couldn't wait to taste it! It's delicious and I haven't even let it cool to taste it with the cilantro! So great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This was super yummy. I added the garlic like one reader had suggeted and the quinoa really took on the flavor, next time I might use a little less. I did use the fresh tomato and avacado and served in lettuce wraps. Again super yummy, thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgattis
Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I made this according to recipe with a few slight changes....cooked quinoa in beef broth, used black beans, and left out the cheese. I enjoyed this both warm and cold but have to say I preferred it warm. Will make again with some more changes according to my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
10-4-11: This was not nearly as good as it sounded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I left out tomatoes entirely, but if I did use would definitely use fresh. Also cook the quinoa in some type of broth, just adds that extra bit of flavour. I left out the cilantro and added fresh spinach and some cucumbers. Fresh garlic a must. Love this salad with these few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States