Tex-Mex Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was my first venture with Quinoa, and it was delicious! I added a chicken boullion to flavor the Quinoa itself, and since other readers complained it was mushy, I cooked it only the 20 minutes til it was al dente. The texture was perfect and seemed to be just as good the next day. I was out of garbanzo beans, so I had to pass on that. I only had stems of cilantro left from dinner last night, so I chopped those fine, didn't have the cheese, added avocado, garlic, onion and fresh tomatoes. It is really good! I would recommend people who are shy about trying Quinoa to use this recipe! And... it's good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I made this yesterday and ate it tonight for dinner. It was so good. I added some ingredients, I added a couple chopped scallions, a TBS minced garlic, and a can of black beans as well as the garbanzo beans. I loved it I will probably add a little more lime juice but that's because I like it a little more limey. I did not add the avacado because I do not like it and I went to 2 different stores and no one had cojita cheese so I got feta cheese instead. I will definiely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momofthreekids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I am a huge quinoa fan, and I'm always looking for new healthy recipes. This is a great one, and I will definitely make it again! I made a few changes: using fresh tomato and jalapeno, feta cheese, parsley instead of cilantro, and adding a bit of red onion. The taste of lime juice makes this salad very refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Neumann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Used this as taco filling, hubby LOVED it. No cilantro and used cheddar. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I loved this recipe! It's very hearty. The cotija cheese makes a great salty topping and the cilantro is a nice flavor also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tstandr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murphys, California, USA
Living In: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
WOW! Everyone I served this too LOVED it and loved how different it was for quinoa with the rotel. My mother who I have been trying to convert to using quinoa is now on the bandwagon after trying this. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
So good - I did change up a bit to my taste. Used 2 fresh tomatoes, black beans and about 4 green onions. I just squirted the juice of 2 limes in and also added 2 cloves of minced garlic. I didnt add any cheese. This was just delicious and I bet its delicious as is - I just cant help myself and end up changing things around a bit ;-) ETA: I cooked the quinoa in veggie broth and added serrano and jalapeno pepper and some frozen sweet corn (just toss in the bowl frozen) - soooo good! Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Good, but a little too spicy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This was okay, but a little too spicy for my taste. I didn't have any avocados, since my family doesn't care for them, so i didn't put any in. The salad was very easy to make, but it isn't something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Perfectly refreshing and tangy. I start craving it when I haven't had it in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States