Tex-Mex Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I also added V8 and fresh tomatoes for my new gluten and dairy free diet. This was really good-can't complain and I dipped my tortilla chips in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onsornurse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I love this recipe and have made it many times! My husband absolutely loves it and it's a great alternative and healthy alternative to salsas and guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Excellent recipe, I substituted fresh tomatoes for canned, other than that I followed the recipe. It is really good hot on a tortilla in place of meat or as a cold salad, keeps well in fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This was a great recipe! I think the only things that I would recommend would be to make sure that the quinoa is boiled down long enough, and if this salad is something you are going to take to a party or somewhere warm, add the avacadoes later on so that they don't turn to mush. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KariMercer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Manama, Capital, Bahrain
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
It had too much lime for my taste. Otherwise it was a really yummy lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I made this last night to go with some hamburgers on the grill and I couldn't believe how tasty this was! I put it in the freezer for 30 min. to speed up the cooling down. I was able to buy a big bag on Quinoa at Sam's Club out here in the Southwest so it was cheaper to make. I did use Cotija cheese, which is pretty expensive if you can find it, but ended up adding some Parmesan as well for more flavor as well as a touch of fresh garlic. I think this is such a versatile salad that if you wanted to add black olives or sun-dried tomatoes, it would taste good. I also didn't have canned tomatoes so I used fresh. I'm going to finish what's left for lunch today! Delicious! I will be bringing this to the next church Agape feast (Pot luck). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Great flavor, good texture. Next time I am going to try this with fresh tomatoes and chili peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicy leah maki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horseheads, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was my first venture with Quinoa, and it was delicious! I added a chicken boullion to flavor the Quinoa itself, and since other readers complained it was mushy, I cooked it only the 20 minutes til it was al dente. The texture was perfect and seemed to be just as good the next day. I was out of garbanzo beans, so I had to pass on that. I only had stems of cilantro left from dinner last night, so I chopped those fine, didn't have the cheese, added avocado, garlic, onion and fresh tomatoes. It is really good! I would recommend people who are shy about trying Quinoa to use this recipe! And... it's good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I made this yesterday and ate it tonight for dinner. It was so good. I added some ingredients, I added a couple chopped scallions, a TBS minced garlic, and a can of black beans as well as the garbanzo beans. I loved it I will probably add a little more lime juice but that's because I like it a little more limey. I did not add the avacado because I do not like it and I went to 2 different stores and no one had cojita cheese so I got feta cheese instead. I will definiely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momofthreekids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States