Tex-Mex Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Fantastic! I followed another reader's suggestion, and did this as lettuce wraps. We ditched the avocado because we don't care for it, used fresh tomatoes in place of canned, and added a few cucumbers and some fresh mint. Also cooked the quinoa in chicken broth, and added a teaspoon of fiesta lime seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
5 stars for how healthy this is and the great flavor combination, I'm giving it 4 stars because the canned tomatoes and chilies and the amount of lime juice tends to make this a bit liquidy. I think fresh tomatoes and jalapenos would work best, and next time I'll just sprinkle the lime juice to taste. overall a really nice dish that I'll make with a few changes that suit my tastes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Excellent recipe! Thank you! I've been looking for good quinoa recipes to use the giant container of it that we got from Costco. Used fresh tomatoes and feta cheese. Added a kick with cayenne and cumin. Served over greens. Looking forward to leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I put in feta rather than the other kind of cheese and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elk River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
These were excellent and very unique! We ate them in tortillas and it was very good. As we couldn't get cotija cheese we used feta instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Very good and a flexible recipe. I didn't have the cotja cheese so I used some jalapeno jack cheese, diced. I used plain tomatoes - drained, as other reviewers said the dish got soggy. It would be easy to make it Italian, adding olives and canellini beans - or Greek - with olives and feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I just added what I had on hand (black beans) plus garlic, onion (no cotija handy) and followed the rest and it was DELISH! I also dashed a little cayenne in for heat, YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aquanymph66

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
We really enjoyed this salad! We cut it in 1/2, and used greek feta. Also, b/c we are in Canada, had to improvise with tomatoes...so, for 1/2 recipe - we did 2 romas and a 1/2 of a 114ml tin of diced green chilis. Did the trick, will def. make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States