Tex-Mex Patty Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
These were pretty good. We used 1.5 lbs of ground beef - kept the other measurements the same - and made 4 big burgers. Served on Texas toast with some sauteed onions and bacon cheese instead of the pepper jack. Not too spicy for us at all, and a really good "chili" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Wonderful flavor but spicy! I followed the recipe exactly, except I did not use beer...in its place, I just used about a 1/4 cup of cold water, more or less. The beer I would assume is to keep the meat juicy and moist. I always add a little water or finely crushed ice to my ground beef for juicyness. The only change I would make next time is to only use 2 peppers total due to the heat level. But overall, this was a delicious recipe, and I will definitely use it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Super good I add grilled onion n mushrooms! It's a good kind of spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Made it as written, even had to hit hubby up for a bit of his tomato beer! I sandwiched the seasoned ground beef in between 2 cookie sheets lined with plastic and squeezed till thin enough then used a pizza cutter to get the square shape since I was using soft ciabatta rolls, toasted them up using 2 cast iron skillets and slathered on the chipotle sauce, Terrific flavor! Thank You Mrs. Martin. :):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This is one of the best recipes on here. I planned on only eating half, but couldn't stop! Not too spicy at all. The only thing I changed was how I cooked them. I grilled the patties and then fried them like grilled cheese. I'm going to make these once a month. Thanks for a fab recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
My husband and I both agree that these were some of the tastiest burgers/sandwiches we've had! I kind of threw together my own chili seasoning so I don't think I used exactly the amount of chili seasoning called for but I used the perfect amount for us! LOVED the spiciness and flavor. I drained the fat into a coffee cup and poured a little back into the skillet each time I put sandwich in and the first time I flipped them. They crisped up nicely! The hubs opted for American cheese but I used the pepper jack. I think they'd be delicious with cheddar, too!!! Can't wait to have these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mightylace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glenville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Not bad, but 1 lb is going to make more than 3 patties...I used 2 lbs and made 10!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thompson, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I got a thumbs up from the whole family on this one and that is saying something!! Very easy too so that is a plus from me. I did grill instead of fry them and they turned out great this way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Love the Chipotle/Mayo sauce and loved the pepper jack cheese. I did not make these as patty melts just made them as regular burgers on toasted whole wheat rolls. These are great, such a different spin on burgers !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
We loved this. I too had burger buns at home so just made these as burgers. the burger had so much flavor and just enough heat for my husband and I. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States