Tex-Mex Patty Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Awesome! Thanks for the recipe, it was great. The only thing I did different was use hamburger buns (because I had them) - I did everything just as the recipe called for, but toasted the buns with the sauce and cheese in the oven for about 5 minutes. Everyone raved about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janine
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
If you like spicy, this is for you! I loved this! Made exactly as directed, only adding a tad of garlic and they were wonderful. The next time I make these I will add a slice of onion and maybe a tomato. Thanks for the delicious recipe Mrs. Martin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This was DELICIOUS! I have never made a patty melt before but what a great way to make a hamburger. I used much less chipotle than was called for and I was glad. I only used about 1/4 of one in the burgers and another 1/8-1/4 in the mayo. It was plenty hot enough for my family. A super recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I made the hamburgers for this recipe exactly as stated and we can't put our finger on it, but we felt there was something that was a little too overpowering in the flavor of the meat. We like hot, so it wasn't the heat, it was a spice, just can't figure it out. I did use tortilla's instead of white bread and heated them until crispy. The melted jack cheese and mayo combo was yummy! The concept is awesome, so I'll be playing around with different seasonings on this one to make it fit perfectly for my family's tastes. I'm thinking some sauted onion would be a good addition. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKWRIGHT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boring, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I was looking for something different for dinner and I noticed this recipe. It sounded very good and was. My husband who is a very picky eater even said they were very good and a nice change of pace. I followed the recipe exactly except for frying the sandwiches in the left over beef grease, I buttered the bread and cooked them like grilled cheese to cut down on calories and they turned out great. Thanks for the posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Carroll, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
These are a good burger. Very spicy, I made mine on Texas Toast; and I also took the advice of another reveiwer and put some fryed onions on them. Next time I might calm down on the chili spice. That tasted a little to powdery. But I will be making these again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
These are great. I put them on grilled sourdough bread and they were outstanding. Add in a mushrooms to the peppers and onions and it is a home run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I really liked these flavorful melts. It was a little hard keeping the patties from falling apart, but it still was very good. Definately a Tex-Mex dish that I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestic DIY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I enjoyed this different twist on the every day burger. I thought the heat was right, but if you cant take medium heat salsa, you may want to back off on the chipotle pepper to just one in the meat mixture. I did mine on the George Forman and can imagine how much better these will be on the Webber grill this summer with the added flavor from the flame and some Guacamole sauce on top, YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Oh, my goodness! This is the first recipe I've rated, and I would give it 10 stars if I could! It warmed the back of my throat just perfectly. I used sourdough bread. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States