Tex-Mex Patty Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I prefer this sites Spicy Chipolte Turkey Burgers. Too much chili powder and why the beer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Thought these were wonderful. I am laughing out loud at the thought that 3 teaspoons of beer could overpower 3 tablespoons chili seasoning mix and 2 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I only used half a pepper in the burgers and half a pepper in the sauce and it was so spicy I couldn't even eat more than two bites. Won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Made these tonight exactly as written. Wouldn't change a thing. Very good flavor and not too spicy for me. If you can't handle heat you might want to cut back on the peppers though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pikesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I could not find any chipotle adobe sauce in our small town. I used Taco Bell chipotle dressing I had on hand. I also added some onion,crushed red peppers and cayenne pepper for our liking. My hamburger fell apart so it was a loose meat sandwhich. Over all I loved the flavor and seasoning. I don't think this would be a kid friendly meal for those who might want to know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Wowsa! This tasted as good as something you'd find at a local diner! Not the healthiest dinner I've ever made, but my hubby and I enjoyed it! I used much less chipotle as called for, and added some mild diced green chilies to the hamburger patties (I made 4). On the advice of several reviewers, I sauteed onions as well....great suggestion. We only buy wheat bread, but once pan-fried, I didn't notice the difference. I used American cheese (not my first choice, but it was all I had). I rounded out our dinner with some crunchy baked onion rings. The chipotle mayo was fantastic...and made a great dipping sauce for the onion rings. Great take on a classic patty melt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
These were so yummy, we added grilled onions but otherwise stuck to the recipe and we were very impressed! DELICIOUS!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie A

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
The chipotle peppers add a nice twist to this Patty Melt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
The burger part of these is definitely five-star and I'm basing my review on that, not my changes. I didn't measure the beer, so probably used a bit more than 1/2 an ounce. They were spicy without being ridiculous and left a nice tingle in my mouth. I didn't add quite as much pepper to the mayo, but it was great. I changed everything else, but it was all super great. I used American cheese because I like the way it melts...I grilled the burgers and used sandwich thins instead of bread. Can't wait to eat the one we had leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
These were absolutely delicious. They do have a kick to them, so it's good we like spicy food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States