Tex-Mex Patty Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I prefer this sites Spicy Chipolte Turkey Burgers. Too much chili powder and why the beer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Thought these were wonderful. I am laughing out loud at the thought that 3 teaspoons of beer could overpower 3 tablespoons chili seasoning mix and 2 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I only used half a pepper in the burgers and half a pepper in the sauce and it was so spicy I couldn't even eat more than two bites. Won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Made these tonight exactly as written. Wouldn't change a thing. Very good flavor and not too spicy for me. If you can't handle heat you might want to cut back on the peppers though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pikesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I could not find any chipotle adobe sauce in our small town. I used Taco Bell chipotle dressing I had on hand. I also added some onion,crushed red peppers and cayenne pepper for our liking. My hamburger fell apart so it was a loose meat sandwhich. Over all I loved the flavor and seasoning. I don't think this would be a kid friendly meal for those who might want to know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Wowsa! This tasted as good as something you'd find at a local diner! Not the healthiest dinner I've ever made, but my hubby and I enjoyed it! I used much less chipotle as called for, and added some mild diced green chilies to the hamburger patties (I made 4). On the advice of several reviewers, I sauteed onions as well....great suggestion. We only buy wheat bread, but once pan-fried, I didn't notice the difference. I used American cheese (not my first choice, but it was all I had). I rounded out our dinner with some crunchy baked onion rings. The chipotle mayo was fantastic...and made a great dipping sauce for the onion rings. Great take on a classic patty melt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
These were so yummy, we added grilled onions but otherwise stuck to the recipe and we were very impressed! DELICIOUS!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie A

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
The chipotle peppers add a nice twist to this Patty Melt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
The burger part of these is definitely five-star and I'm basing my review on that, not my changes. I didn't measure the beer, so probably used a bit more than 1/2 an ounce. They were spicy without being ridiculous and left a nice tingle in my mouth. I didn't add quite as much pepper to the mayo, but it was great. I changed everything else, but it was all super great. I used American cheese because I like the way it melts...I grilled the burgers and used sandwich thins instead of bread. Can't wait to eat the one we had leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
These were absolutely delicious. They do have a kick to them, so it's good we like spicy food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States