Tex-Mex Migas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I made this for Recipe Group. I tweaked it a bit - I know I shouldn't, but I did - due to what I had on hand. My first tweak was to use some garlic butter that I had in my fridge that needed to be used. I nearly bought tomato yesterday, but remembered I had some at home - yellow cherries I was going to quarter. Well, I'm not sure what happened to those tomatoes, but they're not in my fridge! So I rummaged around in my pantry and found diced tomatoes with green chilies. I did add another tbsp of diced green chilies, because I had already opened my can - and it didn't look like there was much in the tomatoes. I did not want to buy a bag of tortilla chips to use 1/4 c. I had just bought some Pringles Tortillas-Southwestern Ranch - so I used those. I did use a little extra, simply because 1/4 didn't seem like enough for 6 eggs. I also used extra [colby jack] cheese. I used up a bag, not bothering to measure. My final tweak was to use my favorite corn & whole wheat blend tortillas, warming them on my burner - I prefer the taste of tortillas on the burner to tortillas in the microwave.... These were yummy, and received high praise from my company (=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Pretty hearty breakfast, and very quick and easy. I added in some minced onion after reading the previous review, a great addition. I didn't really care for the crushed tortillas, but my husband liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I used one whole tomato and I sauteed a little fresh minced onion and garlic in the butter before adding the green chilies. Oh my goodness. This was SO good. The kids really enjoyed it, too. NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by duboo
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Excellent recipe for a Tex-Mex breakfast. I added in some diced onions and omitted the chips, because I didn't have any on hand. A definite keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Yum, I made these Christmas morning and everyone loved them. I use recipes like this to clean out the fridge. I sauteed onion, garlic, bell pepper, and jalapeno for a few minutes and then threw in some leftover ham (didn't have canned chilies or a tomato). Added an avocado on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Easy to make and filling. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe! I substituted the green chile with chipotle chile, and the flavor was wonderful! The only thing I will change next time is adding the tortilla chips a little later so they keep more of their crunch for added texture. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 11, January 2014 ~ Love to fix fast, filling breakfast items. We enjoyed this breakfast, but weren't crazy with the added crunch of the crushed tortilla chips. I know I will make these again, but probably without the added chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Made this for Recipe Group...Delicious! I didn't want the chips to get soggy, so I crushed them on top after I put the eggs on the tortilla, and I'm glad that I did b/c it gave this a nice salty/crunchy texture that I really enjoyed. Also I didn't cook the tomatoes, just put them on top before adding the taco sauce. Great flavor and so simple...a definite keeper for a quick, yummy breakfast (or dinner, lol)! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Huevos Rancheros

A simple tostada-style breakfast with fried eggs, beans, bacon, and salsa.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States