Tex-Mex Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I was shown how to make Tex Mex enchiladas by a woman from San Antonio of Mexican heritage - about 30 years ago. The only difference was in the directions. My mentor dipped the tortillas in the heated chili sauce to soften. Sometimes I use my own chili (if I have any leftovers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I use the sauce at the bottom of the can of chili as bottom layer of enchiladas. No enchilada sauce from can. All good. - Raptor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raptor95

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Incredibly easy recipe. I added diced green chilies and jalapenos to the sauce recipe for extra kick and also used green enchilada sauce instead of red because that's what I could find at the grocery store. I also modified by adding some of the mixture in the tortillas to cut down on some of the cheese. It was a hit! Super delicious and so easy. Definitely adding this to my list of rotating items I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
These were tasty, but I found it to be a big mess, so I ended up making an enchilada casserole by layering everything instead, much easier. I didn't find the need to heat the chili first either and I just added the onions to the chili mixture to save a step later. Trying to heat the tortillas first was just too hot and greasy to work with. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
My husband doesn't normally like enchiladas, and I'm not a huge fan of the normal enchilada sauce...this was really different and good! I made the following changes: We don't like corn tortillas, so I used uncooked flour tortillas from Costco, and browned them in the skillet before filling. Left out the onions, added seasoned black beans and jack cheese to the inside of the enchiladas. Left the sauce the same, put a layer under the enchiladas and a layer on the top. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Super easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Easy and quick to make and there were no leftovers. The entire family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
just curious as to what chili is the best.. i noticed someone used wolfbrand but wondering what would really be best mixed with the enchilada sauce... not really feeling the wolf brand for enchiladas :) i have made enchiladas many times before but looking for something different and quick... looking at this recipe is something i'd really like to try. thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook4ursoul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This is my recipe, and I'm thrilled that people seem to be enjoying it so much. Like I said in the description, these are definitely not low-fat, but they are pretty good every once in a while. If your family is into freezer cooking, these are a great candidate. I prepare them through the rolled stage, then freeze them in their baking pan lined with foil. After they freeze completely (overnight), I remove them from the baking pan, cover the foil wrapped enchiladas and wrap in plastic. To cook, remove from freezer, pop enchiladas in foil back into baking pan, cover with sauce mixture, then bake an extra 15 minutes. So easy and SOOOOO good, plus it doesn't take much extra time to make two or three pans than just one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Finally found a restaurant quality Tex-Mex recipe. Use Wolf Brand Chili/no beans. Family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States