Tex-Mex Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Excellent! I followed the recipe pretty closely. I only used 1 cup of salsa, because that was all I had left, and the flavor was great! I used light cream cheese, which blended in just fine. I also added a larger can of canned chicken, which seemed to be a good amount. Love having this quick and easy recipe on hand now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This tasted great and was so quick and easy. I only made minor substitutions based on what I had on hand. I didn't have enough corn so I threw in some mixed veggies, needed to use some cream so I used that (6 oz) in combo with a bit of milk, vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, and a little extra cumin and chili powder. Delicious! I served it with "jalapeño bread I" found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I added some cubed cooked chicken. Other than that I followed the recipe to a "T". I might use less cream cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
very good but very rich also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dvcurtis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gunnison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
As written this didn't work for me. The texture was odd and then if I stopped stirring for more than a few seconds the cream cheese would separate. I wouldn't exactly say bland but it lacked something so I added a little bit of Velveeta and that did the trick. As written I have to give it a 3. Adding Velveeta bumped it to a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
There's a Mexican restaurant in town that makes a corn chowder that is absolutely amazing. This is the next best thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Excellent! My husband is a picky eater and he absolutely loved this soup! I made the soup exactly as the recipe said and I added some black beans to it as well... I though it would go well with the Tex-Mex theme. It turned out absolutely delicious. And it is especially good with crushed corn chips sprinkled on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This hit the spot on a snow day! Although I added the following: 1 cup diced potatoes, 1/2 can garbanzo beans, 4 oz of Mexican Velveeta, cayenne pepper, and garnished with Cilantro leaves. yumm! This made a lot, but very nourishing and filling! Even my husband and the kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
We LOVE this soup.... we add one chicken breast (shredded) and a can of black beans and it is FABULOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrKate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by violetgrr
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Very disappointing. I was surprised because everyone else loved it. Not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetgrr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States