Tex-Mex Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Excellent! I followed the recipe pretty closely. I only used 1 cup of salsa, because that was all I had left, and the flavor was great! I used light cream cheese, which blended in just fine. I also added a larger can of canned chicken, which seemed to be a good amount. Love having this quick and easy recipe on hand now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This tasted great and was so quick and easy. I only made minor substitutions based on what I had on hand. I didn't have enough corn so I threw in some mixed veggies, needed to use some cream so I used that (6 oz) in combo with a bit of milk, vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, and a little extra cumin and chili powder. Delicious! I served it with "jalapeño bread I" found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I added some cubed cooked chicken. Other than that I followed the recipe to a "T". I might use less cream cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
very good but very rich also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dvcurtis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gunnison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
As written this didn't work for me. The texture was odd and then if I stopped stirring for more than a few seconds the cream cheese would separate. I wouldn't exactly say bland but it lacked something so I added a little bit of Velveeta and that did the trick. As written I have to give it a 3. Adding Velveeta bumped it to a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
There's a Mexican restaurant in town that makes a corn chowder that is absolutely amazing. This is the next best thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Excellent! My husband is a picky eater and he absolutely loved this soup! I made the soup exactly as the recipe said and I added some black beans to it as well... I though it would go well with the Tex-Mex theme. It turned out absolutely delicious. And it is especially good with crushed corn chips sprinkled on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This hit the spot on a snow day! Although I added the following: 1 cup diced potatoes, 1/2 can garbanzo beans, 4 oz of Mexican Velveeta, cayenne pepper, and garnished with Cilantro leaves. yumm! This made a lot, but very nourishing and filling! Even my husband and the kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
We LOVE this soup.... we add one chicken breast (shredded) and a can of black beans and it is FABULOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kati Havel Strid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by violetgrr
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Very disappointing. I was surprised because everyone else loved it. Not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetgrr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States