Tex-Mex Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
We enjoyed this at my house and it was simple to make. I was worried about it being too spicey for my kids so I used mild picante sauce. DH & I might have liked a little more zip but it still had a nice flavor and the kids liked it. I added some chopped smoked turkey from my freezer and about 1 cup of black beans along with the corn and picante sauce. I also used a bit less corn than called for. This is a very rich dish but a nice winter warmer. Leftovers the next day were very good too. The second time I made this, I wanted to use my crock pot. I combined all ingredients from step one in the crock and cooked for several hours. I did the cream cheese step an hour or so before serving. It worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
LOVED LOVED THIS CHOWDER!! I didn't have frozen corn so I used 2 14.5oz cans (drained). This recipe can EASILY be modified. Next time, I might add some shredded chicken or a can of black or northen beans but I made it as is (with the exception of using additional corn) and it was great! I had no problems with the cream cheese and it was great in this soup. Will make this again and again! Thanks Cathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
OOOOOHHHHHH my Gooooooooodddddddddddddd!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
As written this didn't work for me. The texture was odd and then if I stopped stirring for more than a few seconds the cream cheese would separate. I wouldn't exactly say bland but it lacked something so I added a little bit of Velveeta and that did the trick. As written I have to give it a 3. Adding Velveeta bumped it to a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
This chowder was quick, easy and absolutely delicious. I omitted the margarine and used ultra-lite Philly and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
OOOHhhhh my gosh, this was good! I added garlic to the onion, and a can of black beans to the soup. This was the BEST soup I have ever had. I crushed some tortilla chips on top, and was as happy as a clam! It is almost gone, I have to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
I halved the cream cheese and doubled the corn and loved it! I've passed the recipe onto many people recently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This is a delicious recipe. I added some black beans to turn it into a hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2000
A really good soup that is quite different from anything else. The cream cheese adds a wonderful creamy texture. It was great served with hot homemade corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I added some cubed cooked chicken. Other than that I followed the recipe to a "T". I might use less cream cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States