Tex-Mex Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
yum! i substituted onion dip for half of the cream cheese and i used half and half instead of milk. this was good! i plan on making it for the rest of my family for something different on thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This tasted really good! The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that the last two directions are very unclear and need to be rewritten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
It's an awesome recipe, but I add a 500ml container of cottage cheese too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
:( too sweet. and didnt turn out much like a chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Super easy and super good. My husband had 2 helpings and requested it be added to the meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This turned out to be very good, but I made a LOT of changes. First I sauteed onions (1/2 cup) and 2 cloves garlic in butter. Then I added all the spices and 3 large diced potatoes along with garlic salt and chicken broth. When tender, I added the corn, more spices, milk (1 1/2 cups) and cream cheese. The cream cheese was too overpowering, so I let it sit at the lowest temp for 1 hour and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
we were excited about this one because we love mexican....I followed the directions exactly and sorry but it's not one I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This is really yummy! I added a can of black beans as other reviewers suggested and thought it turned out great. I used light cream cheese, and we crunched up tortilla chips in the soup. I will definitely make this again and would make it for company :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I like adding a Mexican flair to some traditional soups & stews, so I figured this was right up my alley. I was not disappointed. I used low-fat margarine, cream cheese & milk, and it was great. Finished up the leftovers the next day and it had grown on me even more by then. It'll probably be even better made in the winter. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Good flavor! A little too much onion especially if you're using a salsa with onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELGAD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States